Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Only Child

The Only Child

‘One of the most talented successors to Stephen King’ DAILY MAIL

A psychotic patient with two impossible claims.
A leading forensic psychiatrist on the edge.
It’s not just Dr. Dominick’s career that’s in danger…

Forensic psychiatrist Dr. Lily Dominick has evaluated the mental states of some of the country’s most dangerous psychotics. But today’s client – a man with no name, accused of the most twisted crime – struck her as different from the others, despite the two impossible claims he made.

First, that he is more than two hundred years old and personally inspired Bram Stoker, Mary Shelley and Robert Louis Stevenson in creating the three novels of the nineteenth-century that define the monstrous in the modern imagination.

Second, that he’s her father.

To discover the truth behind her client, Dr. Dominick must embark on a journey that will threaten her career, her sanity, and ultimately her life.

Taut, terrifying and impossible to put down, The Only Child is perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes and Stephen King.

Praise for Andrew Pyper:

‘One of the most talented successors to Stephen King’ – DAILY MAIL
‘A smart, thrilling, utterly unnerving novel’ – GILLIAN FLYNN, author of Gone Girl
‘Pyper is a master architect of dread’ – LAUREN BEUKES, author of The Shining Girls
‘Genuinely terrifying’ – SJ WATSON, author of Before I Go To Sleep
‘Readers will undoubtedly make comparisons to Stephen King’ LIBRARY JOURNAL
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 17th May 2018

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781409149217

Reviews

Cleverly re-imagines the 19th century gothic classics while spinning a thrilling, touching, and distinctly 21st century monster story
PAUL TREMBLAY, author of A Head Full of Ghosts and Disappearance at Devil's Rock
Andrew Pyper has become one of my favorite writers. The Only Child is as much a psychological inquiry as it is an adrenaline-fuelled thriller, layered with menace, mystery, and startling revelations that span centuries
BENJAMIN PERCY, author of The Dead Lands, Thrill Me, Red Moon and The Wilding
So you're reading The Only Child, Pyper's newest book, and suddenly - kaboom! - the story is shot like a cannon blast across a very dark sky. Exactly the sort of light we pine for
JOSH MALERMAN, author of Bird Box and Black Mad Wheel
Praise for THE ONLY CHILD by Andrew Pyper, the taut, terrifying thriller for fans of Lauren Beukes and Stephen King: 'One of the most talented successors to Stephen King'
DAILY MAIL
Pyper is the most striking Canadian writer to emerge in recent years
MAIL ON SUNDAY
Genuinely terrifying, don't-read-late-at-night stuff. Thrilling, compelling and beautifully written
SJ WATSON, bestselling author of Before I Go To Sleep
Pyper is a master architect of dread ... Compulsive and nerve-jangling
LAUREN BEUKES, bestselling author of The Shining Girls
A smart, thrilling, utterly unnerving novel. Pyper's gift is that he deeply respects his readers, yet still insists on reducing them to quivering children
GILLIAN FLYNN, bestselling author of Gone Girl and Sharp Objects
Horror abounds... Pyper's writing is gripping, and readers will undoubtedly make comparisons to Stephen King
LIBRARY JOURNAL