We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

For readers of THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ and SCHINDLER’S LIST, FAR TO GO is a powerful, mesmerising novel centring on one family’s heartbreaking decision to save their son – by saying goodbye to him for ever.

Longlisted for the 2011 MAN BOOKER PRIZE for Fiction


‘Extraordinary’ Daily Mail
‘A potential classic in the making’ Financial Times

Pepik is only six when the German forces invade Czechoslovakia. Desperate to find freedom, his affluent Jewish parents try to escape with him to Paris, but are betrayed by Marta, the family’s beloved nanny. Yet it is Marta who then secures a place for the Pepik on a Kindertransport, an act of determination that saves his life. But the child is never to see his parents or Marta again.

‘Somewhere between a book and a miracle’ Catherine Ryan Hyde

Reviews

'A potential classic in the making'
<I> Financial Times </I>
'Extraordinary'
<I> Daily Mail </I>
'Clean, crisp and unencumbered'
<I> Globe and Mail </I>
'Somewhere between a book and a miracle'
Catherine Ryan Hyde, author of <I> Love in the Present Tense </I>
'A nuanced and layered portrait of betrayal . . . An intriguing experiment in the art of storytelling'
<I> Montreal Gazette </I>