We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The First Cut: A compulsive psychological thriller with a shock twist that will leave you gasping

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781444715392

Price: £7.99

ON SALE: 5th July 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

‘Plunges an ordinary married couple into a steadily growing horror of past lies, fresh betrayals and murderous revenge’ LISA GARDNER.

A gripping drama perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors and While My Eyes Were Closed.

Nicky‘s had more than her share of heartache. Her best friend Grace was brutally murdered five years ago. Now Nicky is married to Grace’s widower, Greg.

Greg is often away from home, leaving Nicky isolated. So when she meets Adam, an attractive young stranger, an innocent flirtation seems like it’ll help her forget the past…and distract her from her loneliness.

Except what starts as fun soon turns into a nightmare, and it’s not long before dark secrets are revealed. What happened to Grace, all those years ago? And how well does Nicky really know the man she married?

Nicky’s about to discover that the scars of love can last a lifetime…

Reviews

Top notch suspense! From first page to last, Knight delivers as she plunges an ordinary married couple into a steadily growing horror of past lies, fresh betrayals and murderous revenge.
Lisa Gardner
Praise for WINK MURDER
:
Jo Nesbo, Stephen King, Patricia Cornwell and Ali Knight
<i>Independent</i> Books of the Year 2011
A tight-plotted, too-close-for-comfort thriller that races to the finish. Pacey and disquieting, Knight's debut hints she might be a successor to Sophie Hannah's queen of suspense crown.
<i>Stylist</i> Book of the Week
'A really enjoyable read.'
Martina Cole
'Knight's promising debut . . . crackles from first page to last . . . She could be very good indeed.'
<i>Daily Mail</i>
'Tightly-plotted, high-pitched psychological thriller . . . what bright new talent Ali Knight does so successfully, and with a welcome fresh eye, is broach the great divide between public and private space.' ****
<i>Daily Mirror</i>
'A fast-paced whodunit.'
<i>Woman and Home</i>
'A psychological drama that grips from first to last'
<i>Choice</i>
A tightly constructed, suspenseful thriller that will have you turning pages and keep you guessing all the way to the dramatic conclusion.
<i>www.shotsmag.co.uk</i>
The large cast and complicated happenings make an intriguing - if quite muddling - read, and Ali Knight writes well.
<i>Literary Review</i>
[A] suspenseful Hitchcockian tale . . . [one of the] top ten crime books to take on holiday
<i>Telegraph</i>
This thriller will have you on the edge of your seat desperate to read more. Perfect for fans of James Patterson, this is a classic suspense crime thriller . . . a great novel from what appears to be a promising new writer.
<i>Crime Fiction Lover</i>