Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

The Burning Men

The Burning Men

THE FIRST IN A PHENOMENAL NEW PROCEDURAL SERIES FEATURING DI ALEX FINN AND DC MATTIE PAULSEN.

Perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Peter Robinson.

When a high-rise development in South London catches fire mid-construction, a close-knit team of fire fighters tackle the blaze. The building should be empty, but they find a man, unconscious, next to several cases of money.

The fire crew make a fateful decision; leave the man, take the money, quit the service and never speak of this again.

But five years later one of them is set alight in the toilets at his own wedding. Soon after, a second is found in the burnt out remains of his Maserati, nothing but a smoking corpse. It appears that someone knows what they did. And there are still three firemen left to go. . .

DI Alex Finn and DC Mattie Paulsen are an unlikely pairing, but they need to discover who is behind these killings before the last man burns.

This is first in Will Shindler’s Finn and Paulsen series – a British detective series that ranks with Mark Billingham, M.J. Arlidge, Staurt Macbride.

(P) 2019 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery

On Sale: 6th February 2020

Price: £19.99

ISBN-13: 9781529301748

Reviews

An unmissable debut
Sunday Express S Magazine, Books to look forward to in 2020
The pace is good and Finn is a great character. There is also an excellently portrayed organised crime boss
Literary Review
This debut is, simply put, fantastic. It has such a strong opening, you'll be hooked after the first chapter
Yahoo
A gripping debut with well-rounded characters and an intriguing plot. You won't want it to end
Heat
This thriller's hot stuff. A blaze of action and surprises, making it a sure crime debut of the year contender. Shindler's list (sorry!) of successes include an original plot, gasp-out-loud twists and a brilliant new detective team... the case is a humdinger. 10/10
The Peterborough Telegraph
Arresting... an unusual novel with a rising sense of menace
The Sunday Times
Fans of police novels and dramas will lap up this tale, and as it's the first in the Finn and Paulsen series, I can't wait for the next instalment
Daily Record
Blistering debut... this is a gritty and cleverly plotted police drama - the very definition of a page- turner
Culture Fly