We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

WAKE

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781529394696

Price: £14.99

ON SALE: 9th June 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

*** THE NUMBER ONE EBOOK BESTSELLER ***

‘An outstanding first novel’ SUNDAY TIMES (BOOK OF THE MONTH)

My crime novel of the year so far; a moving depiction of the pain that a mysterious disappearance can wreak on those left behind’ SARAH VINE, DAILY MAIL SUMMER BOOKS SPECIAL

‘It is hard to believe Wake is a first novel. Plot, pacing and characterisation are so finely judged that it feels more like the work of a past master. The tension builds, and the revelations keep coming, right until the final page where a thrilling climax combines horror, relief and hope’ THE TIMES

‘Outstanding … With a slow build and complex characters, this is both a well-plotted, gripping mystery and a sensitive exploration of the aftermath of trauma’ GUARDIAN

‘Sinuous and spellbinding, this debut comes with a big reputation, which it richly deserves. Intense, evocative and with two characters to move the soul, it deserves to be a hit. It’s sensational’ DAILY MAIL

EVERYBODY THINKS THEY KNOW MINA McCREERY.
EVERYONE HAS A THEORY ON WHAT HAPPENED TO HER SISTER.
NOW IT’S TIME TO FIND OUT THE TRUTH…

Mina McCreery’s sister Evelyn disappeared nineteen years ago. Her life has been defined by the intense public interest in the case. Now an anxious and reclusive adult, she lives alone on her family’s destocked sheep farm.

When Lane, a private investigator, approaches her with an offer to reinvestigate the case, she rejects him. The attention has had nothing but negative consequences for her and her family, and never brought them closer to an answer.

Lane wins her trust when his unconventional methods show promise, but he has his own motivations for wanting to solve the case, and his obsession with the answer will ultimately risk both their lives.

Superbly written, taut and compassionate, Wake looks at what can happen when people’s private tragedies become public property, and the ripples of trauma that follow violent crimes. Wake won the CWA Debut Dagger in 2019.

Wake is a stunning, masterfully written debut novel, its remote, bleak locations adding tension to an atmospheric and compelling mystery that is hard to put down’ SUNDAY EXPRESS
‘Perfect for fans of Jane Harper‘ ALLIE REYNOLDS
‘A triumphant debut’ ROSE CARLYLE
‘Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent’ CHRIS HAMMER
‘We devoured this stunningly drawn, deeply compelling mystery in one day’ CRIME MONTHLY
‘Evocative, brutal, and sometimes confronting . . . The plot is complex, tightly constructed and not only keeps you reading, but guessing, right up to the last page’ GOOD READING
‘Compulsively readable, with an unforgettable setting and cast of characters, WAKE is a powerful, unsparing story of how trauma ripples outward when people’s private tragedies become public property, and how it’s never too late for the truth to set things right’ BETTER READING
Wake has more twists and turns than the usual novel and it is very tempting to make your own suppositions as to the end of the book, but it has a brilliant denouement. In fact the book itself is an impressive achievement for a debut novel and I’ll be searching out whatever Shelley Burr writes next’ ON magazine

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Incredible! A vividly told mystery, perfect for fans of Jane Harper
Allie Reynolds, author of SHIVER
A triumphant debut
Rose Carlyle
Intriguing and compelling. Shelley Burr is a bright new talent
Chris Hammer
Atmospheric, tense, poignant - the most gripping cold case investigation I've read in a long time. SUPERB
Will Dean
It is hard to believe WAKE is a first novel. Plot, pacing and characterisation are so finely judged that it feels more like the work of a past master. The tension builds, and the revelations keep coming, right until the final page where a thrilling climax combines horror, relief and hope
The Times
WAKE is a stunning, masterfully written debut novel, its remote, bleak locations adding tension to an atmospheric and compelling mystery that is hard to put down
Sunday Express
We devoured this stunningly drawn, deeply compelling mystery in one day
Crime Monthly
I guarantee you will feel exhausted and satisfied as the end of this remarkable book is reached. WAKE has more twists and turns than the usual novel and it is very tempting to make your own suppositions as to the end of the book, but it has a brilliant denouement. In fact the book itself is an impressive achievement for a debut novel and I'll be searching out whatever Shelley Burr writes next
On Magazine
Sinuous and spellbinding, this debut from a young Australian civil servant comes with a big reputation, which it richly deserves. Intense, evocative and with two characters to move the soul, it deserves to be a hit. It's sensational
Daily Mail
A cracking debut
Peterborough Telegraph
An outstanding first novel . . . Burr writes clear-sightedly about the corrosive effect of suspicion on people who have achieved a horrible kind of fame, forced on them by events beyond their control
The Sunday Times
This outstanding debut . . . With a slow build and complex characters, this is both a well-plotted, gripping mystery and a sensitive exploration of the aftermath of trauma
The Guardian
My crime novel of the year so far, a moving depiction of the pain that a mysterious disappearance can wreak on those left behind
Sarah Vine’s Female Half Hour Summer Books Special, Daily Mail