Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Jasad Heir

On sale

18th July 2023

Price: £16.99

Select a format

Selected: ebook / ISBN-13: 9780356520391

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

In a world of forbidden magic and cunning royals, a fugitive queen bargains with her kingdom’s greatest enemy and is soon embroiled in a deadly game that could resurrect her scorched kingdom, or leave it in ashes forever. A stunning enemies-to-lovers fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Fourth Wing and The Jasmine Throne.

At ten years old, the Heir of Jasad flees a massacre that takes her entire family.

At fifteen, she buries her first body.

At twenty, the clock is ticking on Sylvia’s third attempt at home. Nizahl’s armies have laid waste to Jasad and banned magic across the four remaining kingdoms. Fortunately, Sylvia’s magic is as good at playing dead as she is.

When the Nizahl Heir tracks a group of Jasadis to Sylvia’s village, the quiet life she’s crafted unravels. Calculating and cold, Arin’s tactical brilliance is surpassed only by his hatred for magic. When a mistake exposes Sylvia’s magic, Arin offers her an escape: compete as Nizahl’s Champion in the Alcalah tournament and win immunity from persecution. In exchange, Arin will use her as bait to draw out the Jasadis he’s hunting.

To win the deadly Alcalah, Sylvia must work with Arin to free her trapped magic, all while staying a step ahead of his efforts to uncover her identity. But as the two grow closer, Sylvia realizes winning her freedom as Nizahl’s Champion means destroying any chance of reuniting Jasad under her banner. The scorched kingdom is rising again, and Sylvia will have to choose between the life she’s earned and the one she left behind.

Reviews

Hadeer Elsbai, author of The Daughters of Izdihar
A stunning fantasy debut that deftly examines the burdens of political responsibility. With a morally complex heroine and an incomparable enemies-to-lovers arc, The Jasad Heir is a compelling tale of self-discovery, found family, and the meaning of justice
Chelsea Abdullah, author of The Stardust Thief
A remarkable, razor-sharp debut that cuts straight to the heart. Steeped in intrigue, tension, and dangerous magic, The Jasad Heir is a thrilling read that held me captive past its heart-pounding ending
Shelley Parker-Chan, author of She Who Became the Sun
The Jasad Heir takes familiar fantasy plot elements-a destroyed kingdom; a hidden heir to the lost throne-and gives them a thrilling extra layer of political complexity. The slow burn between protagonist and antagonist will have you turning pages in a frenzy. Sara Hashem is a talent to watch!