We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755350469

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 25th September 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

A haunted, misunderstood outcast… or a murderer?

Paul Doherty writes an epic, spine-chilling story of terror, mystery and black magic set in the Middle Ages in his spellbinding novel, The Rose Demon. Perfect for fans of Michael Jecks and Robin Hobb.


Matthias Fitzosbert is the illegitimate son of the parish priest of the village of Sutton Courteny. Despite the recent spate of murders, each day he braves the dark woods to visit his friend, a mysterious hermit who shows him many strange and beautiful things. Though enthralled, the boy is always puzzled by his lessons with the hermit – never more so than the night the villagers hunt the hermit down, and burn him, believing him to be responsible for the many deaths.

The Rose Demon explores Matthias’s unique relationship with a spirit he strives to placate but ultimately flees from. His story is played out against the vivid panorama of medieval life; the fall and sack of Constantinople, the turbulent Wars of the Roses, the terror of witchcraft, the battlefields of Spain and finally the lush jungles of the Caribbean where the Rose Demon and Matthias have one final, dramatic confrontation.

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘Doherty weaves his spell on his readers bringing medieval England to life
‘A captivating read – I was thrilled
Pure brilliance

What's Inside

Read More Read Less