We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755350339

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 30th October 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

Secrets, lies and espionage abound in Hugh Corbett’s medieval England…

The Prince of Darkness is the fifth dazzling novel in the richly authentic Hugh Corbett series from Paul Doherty. Perfect for fans of Susanna Gregory and Robin Hobb.


It is 1301 and a fragile peace exists between Edward of England and Philip IV of France. In the fetid alleys and slums of London and Paris it is a different matter. Here the secret agents of both countries still fight their own, silent, deadly battles. The Prince of Wales wallows in luxury under the sinister influence of his favourite, Gaveston, who has secret political ambitions to dominate the young prince and the English crown. These scandals are threatened with exposure when Lady Belmont, the prince’s former mistress, is found dead, her neck broken, at the foot of a nunnery’s steps. Was it suicide? An accident? Or malicious murder? Edward turns to his master spy, Hugh Corbett, to solve the mystery. In doing so, Corbett must face the deadly rivalry of his French counterpart, the murderous rage of Gaveston and the silent threats of assassins. He must also contend with the lies and silken deceits of his own master.

What readers are saying about The Prince of Darkness:
‘Paul Doherty gives a full flavour of life in the medieval era, interweaving historical fact and fiction with knowledgeable expertise. A thoroughly enjoyable intrigue’
‘250 pages of unputdownable storytelling. Excellent
Another gem from Paul Doherty’

What's Inside

Read More Read Less