We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755350506

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 25th September 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

A legendary explorer. A series of shocking murders. A secret society.

Paul Doherty writes a dramatic historical novel about Marco Polo’s life in 13th century China in The Plague Lord. Perfect for fans of Ellis Peters and C.J. Sansom.


‘An enthralling historical detective novel which immerses the reader in an unknown and distant society far removed from medieval western civilisation, and brings to life some of the period’s greatest characters. The mysterious East has never seemed either so deadly or so alien’ – Brentwood Gazette

Thirteenth-century China. In the streets of Cambaluc, seat of the great Mongol Lord, Kublai Khan, sinister events are unfolding. Members of the Guild of Pourers, the city cleaners, are being picked off one by one in a series of gut-wrenching murders. What is the link between these deaths and the reappearance of the Water Lily sect, a secret society dedicated to service of the Plague Lord, Wen Yi Kwei? With rumours of demonic forces at work, Kublai Khan summons his trusted advisor and friend, the Venetian Marco Polo, to discover the truth. But will he be able to stem the tide of evil before it’s too late? And will the Water Lily sect succeed in unleashing the full fury of Wen Yi Kwei, the great baron of Hell…?

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘I picked it up and couldn’t put it down
The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty’s] books’
Five stars

What's Inside

Read More Read Less