We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9780755350216

Price: £9.99

ON SALE: 30th October 2012

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Select a format:

Paperback

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

With the Emperor himself in danger, can spy Claudia uncover the truth?

The gripping first novel of political intrigue in Paul Doherty’s series set in Ancient Rome, featuring the imperial spy Claudia. Perfect for fans of Lindsey Davis and Steven Saylor.


313AD. Under the rule of Emperor Constantine, Rome finally appears to be emerging from its turbulent past. In order to consolidate his control and under the guidance of his mother Helena, Constantine plans to harness the power of the increasingly influential Christian Church. But his loyalties are brought into question when three courtesans from the Guild of Aphrodite – a guild Constantine himself frequents – are found dead. All three bodies have crosses etched on their forehead and each cheek. Aiming at protecting her son’s future, Helena calls upon the service of an ‘agente in rebus politcus’ – or spy. Claudia is the niece of a tavern-owner and is placed as a wine-server in Constantine’s household. But Claudia has secret motives of her own…

What readers are saying about Paul Doherty:
‘Paul Doherty’s books are a joy to read
The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty’s] books’
‘A great read – I recommend to anyone who loves a good mystery

What's Inside

Read More Read Less