Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Extraordinary Magic

On sale

1st February 2024

Price: £14.99

Selected:  Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9780316383592

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

This lyrical picture book biography tells the story of one of America’s most celebrated children’s book authors, Virginia Hamilton, the first African American to win the Newbery Medal, and is perfect for fans of Planting Stories: The Life of Librarian and Storyteller Pura Belpré.

Virginia was free.
To be a dreamer.
To be a wanderer.
To be her own unique self.
Free to be.


Virginia Hamilton was only nine years old when she decided she would become a writer. Growing up in the countryside of Ohio, she listened to her family’s stories and knew that words held extraordinary magic. From her childhood years discovering her love for storytelling, to her early adult life honing her craft in the city, Virginia found her voice in her writing as she began a career defined by her roots.

Through interconnected poems, this moving biography celebrates the remarkable life of the highly decorated and much beloved Virginia Hamilton. It’s a stunning tribute to a girl who dared to dream-and inspired those after her to do the same.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less