We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781529366655

Price: £18.99

ON SALE: 9th June 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

He loved her. He lost her. But he should never have written her off.



Birthday Girl is a real treat of a book, beautifully written and perfectly paced, slowly revealing secret after secret until you’re not sure of anything anymore – only that you have to keep reading‘ – Elly Griffiths, author of The Ruth Galloway Novels

Jonathan’s wife disappeared more than twenty years ago. Now he’s seeing her everywhere . . .

New York in the 1990s – impoverished writer Jonathan Dainty takes his wife Maddie out to the beach for her birthday. Hours later he finds himself at the local police precinct trying to explain how on earth he let his wife get into a stranger’s car, and allowed it to drive her away.

More than twenty years later, Maddie is presumed dead and Jonathan has channelled his grief into a best-selling series of crime novels. As far as he can, he is living the perfect life.

Then one day he catches a glimpse of his dead wife, moving through a throng of people. Is Maddie alive? Has she come back? And why does no one believe him? As Jonathan attempts to uncover the truth, it soon becomes clear that the people closest to him are hiding something, something that could change everything . . .

The propulsive thriller from debut talent Niko Wolf, perfect for fans of Gone Girl and Blood Orange

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

A sleek, suspenseful story with characters so real you could reach out and touch them and a deliciously sharp sting in its tail
C.L. Pattison, author of The Guest Book
Birthday Girl is dark and fiendishly compelling, slowly revealing secret after secret until you're not sure of anything anymore - only that you have to keep reading
Elly Griffiths, author of The Ruth Galloway Novels
What a read! An absorbing and complex thriller that will keep you guessing until the last shocking reveal
Sophie Flynn, author of All My Lies
A wonderfully taut and tense exploration of success in the face of trauma, Birthday Girl is a hugely compelling and thoroughly twisted tale . Masterfully written, this novel will reel you in and hold you enthralled as the layers of story are revealed
Sarah Bonner, author of Her Perfect Twin
An unusual plot line and a terrific ending mark Wolf out as one to watch for the future... Her psychological grasp of what drives Dainty and how he deals with his grief is particularly convincing
The Daily Mail
An utterly captivating, sinister tale
Woman's Own
This intricate mystery ticks along with the smooth precision of a Swiss watch [ . . . ] The truth in the twist will take your breath away
Peterborough Telegraph
Wolf is a screenwriter and the book has a tightly honed cinematic structure as it moves fluently between present and past
The Irish Times