We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Dry Rot and Daffodils

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781409147664

Price: £5.49

ON SALE: 19th September 2013

Genre: Biography & True Stories / Memoirs

A funny and enlightening account of life in a National Trust house.

Perfect for fans of SECRET LIFE OF THE NATIONAL TRUST and ALL CREATURES GREAT AND SMALL

“The next time we went down to the cellar we found that the ceiling over the stairs had collapsed in a welter of dust, cobwebs and ancient lath and plaster. I had wondered why our stairs were more draughty than usual…”

If you thought living in a stately home was all gleaming banisters, visiting aristocracy and priceless antiques, then Dry Rot and Daffodils is a must-read. Throughout her years living at Felbrigg Hall in Norfolk Mary Mackie has encountered dry rot, leaking roofs, visiting children who leave bubble-gum on the antiques – and a complete lack of privacy.

Full of anecdotes that are always enlightening, often funny and sometimes almost unbelievable, Dry Rot and Daffodils is a wonderfully entertaining account of what it’s really like to live in a National Trust house.