Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Last Hero

On sale

10th August 2023

Price: £10.99

Select a format

Selected: Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781529387049

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The flame of rebellion burns across the solar system in this dazzling conclusion to Linden A. Lewis’s stunning First Sister trilogy perfect for fans of Red Rising, The Handmaid’s Tale, and The Expanse.

‘Wonderfully imaginative and gripping’
R.F. Kuang, Sunday Times bestselling author of Babel

Astrid is finally free of the Sisterhood, yet her name carries on. She’s called the Unchained by those she’s inspired and the Heretic by those who want her voiceless once more. Now Astrid uses knowledge of the Sisterhood’s inner workings against them, aiding the moonborn in raids against abbeys and Cathedrals, all the while exploring the mysteries of her forgotten past.

The Sisterhood is thriving under the newly appointed Mother Lilian I, now rebuilding the Sisterhood in her own image. But the evil of the Sisterhood can’t be purged with anything less than fire….
Hiro val Akira is a rebel without an army, a Dagger without a Rapier. As protests rock the streets of Cytherea, Hiro moves in the shadows, driven by grief and vengeance, as they hunt the man responsible for all their pain: their father….

Transformed by the Genekey virus, Luce navigates the growing schism within the Asters on Ceres. Hurting in her new body, she works to bridge two worlds seemingly intent on mutual destruction. All while mourning her fallen brother, though Lito sol Lucius’s memory may yet live on.

Yet Souji val Akira stands in judgment on them all, plotting the future for all of humanity, and running out of time before war erupts between the Icarii and Geans. But can even the greatest human intellect outwit the Synthetics?

Praise for Linden A. Lewis

‘Ridiculously readable’
April Genevieve Tucholke, author of The Boneless Mercies

‘A must-read’
Audrey Coulthurst, author of Of Fire and Stars

‘As stylish as it is substantial’
NPR

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

R. F. Kuang
Wonderfully imaginative and gripping - Lewis's debut sucks you in from the very first scene and keeps you absorbed in a roller coaster of high-octane action and devastating twists. Her prose is rich and assured; her characters complex and compelling
April Genevieve Tucholke, author of The Boneless Mercies
A ferocious mix of energetic plotting and vivid characters. Ridiculously readable
NPR
A lot of fun, as stylish as it is substantial . . . read on
Booklist
Conflicts over advanced technology, religious beliefs, and economic deprivation swirl throughout this thrilling LGBTQ space opera centred on love, loss, and betrayal . . . The revolution is just getting started
Library Journal, starred review
This debut showcases themes of colonization, technology, genetic manipulation, and corruption that leaves its mark. A layered, action-filled plot and diverse characters create a powerful entry in the space opera genre
Publishers Weekly
Replete with espionage, high-speed chases, and fight scenes, Lewis's sophomore effort demonstrates a knack for building tension, while also adding layers of worldbuilding complexity to deliver some genuine surprises
NPR
A sprawl, queer space opera that balances high-energy, visually slick action scenes against complex political intrigues and nuanced character relationships
Booklist
A surprising revelation and closing twist set the stage for the finale to the First Sister trilogy