We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781398705203

Price: £21.99

ON SALE: 11th May 2021

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

‘A fascinating courtroom drama’
Daily Mail

‘Reads like your favorite podcast, the hit crime doc you’ll want to binge’
Josh Malerman, New York Times bestselling author of Bird Box

‘A riveting courtroom drama’
Morning Star

AMBITION. DESIRE. BETRAYAL. MURDER?

With followers numbering in the hundreds of thousands, a glamorous circle of friends, and a famous boyfriend, the life that fitness influencer Cleo Ray has always wanted is within her grasp.

Then, just before joining her friends for a holiday in the mountains, Cleo and a young woman named Rebecca set off in a canoe on a deserted lake. An hour later, Rebecca is found dead in the water and Cleo has gone missing.

When word gets out, Cleo is going viral, but for all the wrong reasons. Who was the girl in the canoe? And did Cleo have anything to do with her death? If Cleo is innocent, why did she try to run? Charged with murder, this social media influencer’s biggest platform is no longer Instagram, it’s the witness stand…

Told in the form of a true crime documentary, The Anatomy of Desire is a gripping and original psych suspense novel for the social media era – perfect for fans of You, Good Me Bad Me and the hit podcast Serial.

Reviews

A riveting courtroom drama. It uses skilfully fashioned plot twists to gradually reveal the background and aftermath of a tragedy born of naive but simultaneously ruthless ambition, childhood damage and the ripple effects of prejudice
Morning Star
A truly innovative, fantastic book . . . Reads like your favorite podcast, the hit crime doc you'll want to binge
Josh Malerman, New York Times bestselling author of Bird Box
Centered on the world of social media influencers, [this] remarkable debut takes the form of a true crime docuseries. . . With no witnesses to the murder, readers will breathlessly await the verdict. Dorn, the pen name of husband-and-wife team Matt Dorff and Suzanne Dunn, is definitely a writer to watch
Publishers Weekly
'Deliciously contemporary. A fascinating courtroom drama . . . a compelling, poignant portrait of sexual desire in our social media age'
Daily Mail