We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Madness and murder await you…

Arthur Conan Doyle, renowned creator of Sherlock Holmes, arrives in New York with his wife Louisa ready to begin his first American tour. While he prepares his lectures, Louise becomes mesmerised by the vibrant and dangerous city. Especially when a woman’s corpse is found in a Bowery alley and Louisa is convinced from the artist’s sketch in the newspaper that she’d seen the victim in the hotel.

Although Arthur is sceptical about her fantasies, when Louisa sprains her ankle and is forced to remain in the hotel she can’t resist pursuing her intuitions. And when more bodies start appearing, she’s convinced that she holds the key to the killings. With the help of the hotel detective and an ambitious female reporter, Louisa starts to piece together a story of madness, murder and depravity.

A gripping historical mystery perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes. And don’t miss THE FRIGHTENED MAN – the first book in Kenneth Cameron’s gripping Denton crime mysteries featuring an amateur sleuth you’ll never forget.

Reviews

A fast-paced and exciting read
TELEGRAPH & ARGUS
A well-realised mystery that shows promise for future books in the series
SUNDAY BUSINESS POST
Louisa is a fascinating creation ... Conan Doyle's wife is a clever choice as the novel's central character, embodying the fears and aspirations of women of the period, and the ingenious plot does not diminish the horrors she has to confront
SUNDAY TIMES
Clever and engrossing.
GOOD BOOK GUIDE
[A] gripping tale of mass mayhem... The action builds to an enigmatic and harrowing resolution.
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY
[A] gripping new historical thriller... Part historical fiction, part psychological thriller, Cameron's work is all page-turner.
LIBRARY JOURNAL