We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781399706131

Price: £16.99

ON SALE: 5th July 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

A stunning feminist reimagining of the life of Joan of Arc – perfect for fans of Cecily, Ariadne and Matrix

‘It is as if the author has crept inside a statue and breathed a soul into it, re-creating Joan of Arc as a woman for our time’ Hilary Mantel, twice Booker Prize-winning author of The Mirror & the Light

‘A glorious, sweeping novel . . . Richly imagined, poignant and inspiring’ Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

***

Girl. Warrior. Heretic. Saint?

France is mired in a losing war against England. Its people are starving. Its king is in hiding. Yet out of the chaos, an unlikely heroine emerges.

Reckless, steel-willed and brilliant, Joan has survived a childhood steeped in both joy and violence to claim an extraordinary – and fragile – position at the head of the French army. The battlefield and the royal court are full of dangers and Joan finds herself under suspicion from all sides – as well as under threat from her own ambition.

With unforgettably vivid characters and propulsive storytelling, Joan is a thrilling epic, a triumph of historical fiction, and a feminist celebration of one remarkable – and remarkably real – woman who left an indelible mark on history.

PRAISE FOR JOAN

‘An electrifying creative leap – a re-imagining both vivid and compelling. A triumph!’ Annie Garthwaite, author of Cecily

‘Measured, austere, profoundly physical. I loved it’ Jo Baker, author of Longbourn

Riveting and beautiful. Chen has given us a new Joan for our times, who is tender, magnetic, and courageous. This is a haunting and deeply insightful novel’ Rebecca Stott, Costa award-winning author of In the Days of Rain

Pacy but lyrical, which takes great skill . . . Joan possesses a mystical, spiritual quality that gleams within the dirt and brutality of war, while her kindness and compassion shine through. I loved the writing, the imagery, the feeling of authenticity: this novel will stay with me for a long time’ Elizabeth Chadwick, bestselling author

‘This masterly and intense portrait creates a convincing three-dimensional character from the young peasant woman gifted with visions who, in her short life, followed her destiny to fight for the disputed French crown, even at the cost of her life. A highly immersive read’ Anne O’Brien, bestselling author of The Royal Game

‘In Katherine J. Chen’s capable hands, Joan becomes fully flesh and achingly real’ Lisa Wingate, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Lost Friends

‘An epic novel with the mythic power of a fairytale’ Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train and The Exiles

Reviews

A glorious, sweeping novel . . . Richly imagined, poignant and inspiring
Jennifer Saint, bestselling author of ARIADNE
It is as if the author has crept inside a statue and breathed a soul into it, re-creating Joan of Arc as a woman for our time
Hilary Mantel, Booker-winning author of THE MIRROR AND THE LIGHT
Measured, austere, profoundly physical. I loved it
Jo Baker, author of LONGBOURN
In Katherine J. Chen's capable hands, Joan becomes fully flesh and achingly real
Lisa Wingate, No.1 New York Times bestselling author of The Book of Lost Friends
An epic novel with the mythic power of a fairytale
Christina Baker Kline, No.1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train
A wholly original novel that inspires one's mind and awakens one's soul. With Joan, Katherine J. Chen has created nothing short of a masterpiece
Alyson Richman, bestselling author of The Lost Wife
Beautifully written and confidently told, this is a story of how feminine strength and will can change the world
Megan Chance, bestselling author of A Splendid Ruin
This Joan is of the earth - scrappy and strong, resilient and curious. An ambitious, thrilling novel
Fiona Davis, New York Times bestselling author of The Magnolia Palace
Katherine J. Chen has stunningly summoned another time and place
M.J. Rose, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Tiara
When you look up the term 'historical fiction' in the dictionary it should say, simply, Read Katherine J. Chen
Steve Berry, New York Times bestselling author of The Kaiser’s Web