We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Black Swan of Paris

The Black Swan of Paris

A world at war. A beautiful young star. A mission no one expected.

‘A truly outstanding novel, brilliantly written, that captured me and held me in its grip from page one. The Black Swan of Paris reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage’
Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz

Paris, 1944

Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, her position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve is shaken. She knows it won’t be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary – including assassination.

But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected – and in time to save Lillian’s life.

For fans of Danielle Steele’s The Spy, Jane Thynne’s Black Roses and Heather Morris’ The Tattooist of Auschwitz, this exquisite novel illuminates three women’s strength, courage and capacity for unconditional love.

PRAISE FOR THE BLACK SWAN OF PARIS

‘Emotional and powerful’
Pam Jenoff, bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris

‘Beautifully written and completely absorbing. ‘
Noelle Salazar, bestselling author of The Flight Girls

‘An extraordinarily suspenseful, emotional read’
Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say

Reader Reviews:

‘Perfect! This novel was the first I’ve read by this author but I will definitely be reading more of her work. It was pacy, exciting, heart-breaking in places, with a truly believable romance sub-plot that was centred around characters I cared about.’

‘A high octane read which is a real page turner and captures the heightened tension of the war perfectly. A brilliant read that I would recommend.’

‘This is an excellent WWII historical fiction novel and it is for anyone that loves a good plot, suspense, and anyone that loves to read about the impressive underdog of the Resistance in France during the Occupation.’

Robards paints a beautiful capture of the true Parisian Paris during WWII. Her first historical fiction should be praised for the attention to detail, emotional and action packed novel.’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 30th June 2020

Price: £20.99

ISBN-13: 9781529338225

Reviews

WWII history buffs will appreciate the accurate depictions and backdrop, while romantic-suspense lovers will eagerly follow Genevieve from the seashores of France to the hilltops of Germany
Booklist
Robards blends commendable attention to historical detail with intense realism and deep feeling. Historical fiction fans will be enthralled with this richly hewn novel and the romance and danger lurking around its every corner
Publishers Weekly
the latest page-turner from Karen Robards
Choice