We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Marsh King's Daughter

Buy Now:

Audiobook Downloadable / ISBN-13: 9781405536899

Price: £19.99

ON SALE: 29th June 2017

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

The perfect listen for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing, The Marsh King’s Daughter is an unforgettable and emotionally-charged story of gripping suspense.

You’d recognise my mother’s name if I told it to you. You’d wonder, briefly, where is she now? And didn’t she have a daughter while she was missing?


And whatever happened to the little girl?


Helena’s home is now like anyone else’s, with a husband and two daughters and a job she enjoys. But no one knows the truth about her childhood.

Brought up in a cabin in the wilderness until she was twelve, Helena’s father kept her and her mother isolated and unable to leave their marshland home, until the fateful day Helena escaped and her father faced justice.

Now, years later and with news that he has escaped from prison, Helena instinctively knows that her father is coming for her and if she is to keep her family safe, she must once again return to the marsh, to confront him in the wilderness, and become the Marsh King’s daughter once again.

‘Kya, the main character in Crawdads, is known as the “Marsh Girl.” The Marsh King’s Daughter shares the marsh moniker, along with the mystery and thriller elements of Crawdads… if you’re looking for another strong female character and a book where the characters are of their environment, this book might do the trick’
AMAZON

Reviews

Exceptional...Helena's conflicting emotions about her father and her own identity elevate this powerful story
PUBLISHERS WEEKLY STARRED REVIEW
Unlike anything else I've read. Haunting and unputdownable
LAURA MARSHALL
Oh, such a wonderful book... I am completely blown away. Just mesmerising
ALEX MARWOOD
I don't use the word "brilliant" often, but no other adjective feels adequate to describe this amazing novel . . . an exceptional achievement
DAVID MORRELL
Tension-filled thriller... Disturbing and atmospheric - it gripped me from the first page
WOMAN & HOME
Original and exciting, with a thrilling ending. If you liked Room, you'll love it
MARK EDWARDS
Although there are shades of Emma Donahue's Room here, Dionne explores more thoroughly the relationship between captor and captive, the heavy anchoring of a familial bond and the exploitation of childhood innocence... Riveting
EVENING STANDARD
This is Room meets The Revenant and has screenplay adaptation shot through it like a stick of rock... the plot is fantastic but it is the characters that set this book alight...LOVED LOVED LOVED THIS BOOK
L.V. HAY
Eerie and breathtaking, terrific and terrifying in the best possible way
TÉA OBREHT
Sensational . . . if you only read one thriller this year, make it this
CLARE MACKINTOSH
A constantly surprising novel which never takes the obvious route, it is emotionally and intellectually thrilling as well as tremendously exciting
SUNDAY EXPRESS
Troubling, sinuous and powerfully told, you won't be able to stop turning the pages
MEGAN ABBOTT
This gorgeously written eerie suspense novel gave me chills... I loved it
KARIN SLAUGHTER
Loved it . . . Haunting and compelling
TOM WOOD
Sensationally good psychological suspense - I loved this book
LEE CHILD
A real tour-de-force. Beautifully written, heart-pounding action, finely drawn characters
GILLY MACMILLAN
Subtle, brilliant and mature . . . superb . . . as good as a thriller can be
NEW YORK TIMES