We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A gripping and thrilling novel of the courageous Black women who made history in World War Two.

Inspired by true events, and perfect for fans of Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network and Hidden Figures.

‘Poignant and powerful; an untold story that you simply must read’ NATASHA LESTER

Based on the true story of the 6888th Postal Battalion (the Six Triple Eight), Sisters in Arms explores the untold story of what life was like for the only all-Black, female US battalion to be deployed overseas during World War Two.


‘Heartwarming but fierce, a novel brimming with camaraderie and fire, starring women you’d love to make your friends’ KATE QUINN

‘A beautifully written love song to the brave, oft forgotten Black women who courageously stepped up to serve their country’ FARRAH ROCHON


‘The story of these brave female soldiers will have you rooting for them with the turn of every page and brimming with pride. A triumph!’ KWANA JACKSON


Grace Steele and Eliza Jones may be from completely different backgrounds, but when it comes to the army, specifically the Women’s Army Auxiliary Corps (WAAC), they are both starting from the same level. Not only will they be among the first class of female officers the army has even seen, they are also the first Black women allowed to serve.

As these courageous women help to form the 6888th Central Postal Directory Battalion, they are dealing with more than just army bureaucracy – everyone is determined to see this experiment fail. For two northern women, learning to navigate their way through the segregated army may be tougher than boot camp. Grace and Eliza know that there is no room for error; they must be more perfect than everyone else.

When they finally make it overseas, to England and then France, Grace and Eliza will at last be able to do their parts for the country they love, whatever the risk to themselves.