Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Meant To Be

Meant To Be

A name he does not know and a face he cannot forget…

Meant To Be is a Second World War novella from bestselling author Joy Chambers. Fans of The Great Deception, None but the Brave and For Freedom won’t want to miss this heart-warming read.

It is 1935. The first shadows of war are creeping across Europe, but in Queensland, Australia, a young woman caught in a thunderstorm is about to meet the person who will change her life forever.

Lexi Robinson is a long way from home. A recently qualified doctor about to take up a position in a Hong Kong hospital, she knows her own mind and refuses to fall for a man she will never see again.
John Drayton Whitby is a soldier. Tall and fair, and quick to grin, he spends his last few days of leave preoccupied with thoughts of a girl whose name he does not know, but whose face he cannot forget…

What people are saying about Meant To Be:

Short and sweet but totally adorable

‘A very realistic story and well written. Couldn’t put it down

‘Nice short quick story with believable characters and storyline
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 7th May 2015

ISBN-13: 9781472230539