Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

For Freedom

For Freedom

For Freedom is a tangled and dramatic story of two couples in love and war, set in the Philippines during the World War II. The perfect read for fans of Margaret Leroy and Patricia Shaw.

‘There’s action and passion galore in Joy Chambers’ For Freedom’ Australian Women’s Weekly

December 1941.

The whole of South East Asia appears to be capitulating before the rising sun and four remarkable people are about to reassess their lives:

Lexi Robinson: the doctor with a secret from the past who escapes before Hong Kong is invaded, only to find herself still within the enemy net.

John Drayton Whitby: Australian army officer who focuses on the long, harrowing fight for freedom even whilst his mind clouds with suspicions about his wife.

Hank ‘Trap’ Trapperton: the West Point-trained American ‘spy’ who is John Drayton’s trusted friend and yet not really his friend at all.

And Kathleen Leigh: the woman brought up to believe a lie until the day comes when she must confront the appalling truth.

What people are saying about For Freedom:

‘A wonderful author and a wonderful book

Joy Chambers is up there with the very best authors and meticulously researches her book subjects’

For Freedom is something else. It is informative, educational, entertaining and totally engrossing
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 6th May 2015

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9780755393459

Reviews

'There's action and passion galore in Joy Chambers' FOR FREEDOM. Set in the Pacific during World War II, lives go helter-skelter and the heroine, Lexie, finds herself married to one man, but in lust with another'
<i>Australian Women's Weekly</i>
'[A] riveting bestseller'
<i>Sunday Telegraph</i>
'A great rollercoaster of a novel, with plenty of fierce fighting, thrilling exploits and tender romance. The main charcaters...are well-rounded and full of flaws and complexities [and] the exoitic backdrop is well depicted'
Historical Novels Review