We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

ebook / ISBN-13: 9781472279965

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 3rd February 2022

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

CAN TWO SISTERS IN WAR FIND THEIR WAY BACK TO EACH OTHER? INSPIRED BY THE EXTRAORDINARY COURAGE AND SACRIFICE OF REAL PEOPLE.

‘Such a compelling read . . . it kept me guessing to the end and has stayed with me since finishing it’ SUZANNE GOLDRING
‘A heart-wrenching book about family bonds that fray and stretch while facing the toughest of trials during the German occupation of Jersey during WW2. I loved this heart-in-your-mouth story of forbidden love, courage and hope against a treasure trove of beautifully researched historical detail’ KERRY FISHER
‘A stunning tale about sisters, courage, and sacrifice that will keep you enthralled until the very last page’ ANDIE NEWTON, USA Today bestselling author of The Girls from the Beach
‘Heart-wrenching, immersive, beautifully researched . . . I thoroughly recommend, together with a tissue for this emotional read!’ LOUISE FEIN
‘What an emotional read, I felt like I was actually living along the characters, I absolutely loved this book *****’ REAL READER REVIEW for The Lighthouse Sisters
‘I was gripped. I couldn’t put it down. Heartwrenching at times and so full of hope and resillience at others. I really enjoyed it ****’ REAL READER REVIEW for The Lighthouse Sisters

A gripping, heartbreaking story of two sisters in occupied Jersey during WWII – one a nurse, who is transported to Nazi Germany, the other, who volunteers for the island’s resistance movement – from the author of THE CHILD ON PLATFORM ONE. Perfect for readers of The Nightingale Kristin Hannah, A Woman of War Mandy Robotham and My Name is Eva Suzanne Goldring.
____


‘They were there for each other during the war just like the lighthouse, a source of hope and protection over the years.’

1996: The war may have ended decades earlier, but for the elegant woman sitting alone now, the images live on in her memory: her sister’s carefree laughter, the inky black of a German soldier’s boots, the little boats that never came back. And the one constant through it all: the lighthouse that always guided them back to the island.

1940: For sisters Alice and Jenny life is just beginning when the Nazis seize control of the island of Jersey, driving the girls down separate paths. While Alice is forced by the enemy to work in the German hospital, Jenny is attracted to the circle of islanders rising up to resist the occupiers. And as the war tightens its grip, it will cause each of the sisters to make an extraordinary choice, experience unimaginable heartbreak and emerge forever changed…

_______

Your favourite authors absolutely love Gill Thompson’s bestselling novels:


‘Heartrending. Riveting. Definitely on my list of Ten Best Books of the yearSharon Maas
‘The characters and their moving stories will haunt you long after you finish the last page’ Shirley Dickson
‘A warm-hearted tale of love, loss and indefatigable human spirit’ Kathryn Hughes
‘A heartrending story’ Jane Corry
‘A mother’s loss and a son’s courage . . . A heartrending story that spans the world’ Diney Costeloe

Reviews

Praise for Gill Thompson: 'Heartrending. Riveting. Definitely on my list of Ten Best Books of the year
Sharon Maas
The characters and their moving stories will haunt you long after you finish the last page
Shirley Dickson
A warm-hearted tale of love, loss and indefatigable human spirit
Kathryn Hughes
A heartrending story
Jane Corry
A mother's loss and a son's courage . . . A heartrending story that spans the world
Diney Costeloe