Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Original Sins

On sale

7th March 2024

Price: £20

Select a format

Selected: Hardcover / ISBN-13: 9781444777819

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

‘Bold, gritty and deeply immersive, the compelling plotline, richly drawn characters and authentic sense of place wrapped up in taut heartfelt prose, drew me in and had me racing through the pages well into the night. A stunning and hugely suspenseful follow up to The Fields’ AA Chaudhuri, author of The Final Party ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

It’s a brutal winter in Des Moines, Iowa, and the city is gripped by fear. A serial attacker known as the Sin Eater is stalking women and has just struck again. It’s a tough time and a tough place for Riley Fisher, a former small-town sergeant, to be reporting for duty as an FBI agent on her first assignment.

Teamed with a man she’s not sure she can trust and struggling to prove herself – while fighting the pull of her old life and family dramas – Riley is tasked with investigating a vicious death threat against the newly elected female state governor. Gradually, she traces a disturbing connection between this case and the hunt for the Sin Eater. Through snow, ice, violence and lies, Riley Fisher is drawn towards a terrifying revelation.

Erin Young follows up her acclaimed crime debut, The Fields, which has drawn comparisons with Mare of Easttown, Silence of the Lambs and True Detective, with another stunning thriller full of dark menace and suspense.

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reviews

Praise for The Fields:
Cristina Alger, bestselling author of Girls Like Us
The sharp prose and explosive plot immediately drew me in, but the richly textured exploration of life in rural America stayed with me long after I finished. This is a classic crime series in the making
Will Dean, bestselling author of The Last Thing to Burn
Loved the vivid sense of place. Hints of True Detective & The Silence of the Lambs. EXCELLENT
Publishers Weekly
Young delivers a disturbing, twist-riddled thriller stocked with well-drawn characters
Booklist
[A] well-crafted procedural . . . vivid portraits of Black Hawk's denizens provide a compelling draw.
Araminta Hall
This book will chill you to the bone. So atmospheric I feel like I've actually been to Des Moines. A complex, tense, dark thriller with a cop to root for and a killer to fear. So good!
Praise for Original Sins:
Anthony Riches
The Fields was an assured and thought provoking debut, but with Original Sins Erin Young takes the authenticity and pacing of her story telling to a new level. This book is both meticulously researched and enthralling.
Stacy Willingham, New York Times bestselling author of A Flicker in the Dark
A meticulously plotted police procedural that absolutely has it all: an icy setting in rural Iowa, a timely political backdrop... and one of the most chilling villains I've read in recent history. This book is perfect for fans of Tana French.
Wendy Walker, author of What Remains
. . . intricate plotting, breakneck pacing - and, in FBI agent Riley Fisher, a compelling heroine you'll not soon forget.
AA Chaudhuri, author of The Final Party
Bold, gritty and deeply immersive, the compelling plotline, richly drawn characters and authentic sense of place wrapped up in taut heartfelt prose, drew me in and had me racing through the pages well into the night. A stunning and hugely suspenseful follow up to The Fields.
Marina Palmer, author of The Russian Doll
Original Sins is compelling from the first page to the last, dealing with important and challenging issues through a propulsive, edge-of-the-seat narrative. A brilliant thriller, and Young's superb writing on every page, along with her engaging cast of characters, lifts the novel into a class of its own.
Tariq Ashkanani, author of Follow Me to the Edge
A proper cinematic thriller!
Graham Bartlett
Incredible. A chilling, terrifyingly plausible and white-knuckle of a thriller. Erin Young's masterful writing makes you not only feel you've been airdropped into Des Moines but that the horrors that unfold are happening around you
Publishers Weekly
a high-octane, ardently feminist thriller
Kevin Wignall, author of A Death in Sweden
A totally fresh take on the FBI procedural, ORIGINAL SINS is beautifully written and utterly absorbing - an absolute must-read
Nadine Matheson, author of The Jigsaw Man
An intoxicating, atmospheric and tense thriller that compels you from the first page
Sarah Sultoon, author of Death Flight
Horrifyingly compelling, ingeniously twisted, each character, every plot turn meticulously crafted. Forensic knowledge of middle America & pitch perfect detail. Brilliant
HB Lyle, author of Spy Hunter
Erin Young knocks it out of the park with this one
Rachel Wolf, author of Five Nights
Dark, menacingly atmospheric and characters that vibrate off the page. At times poetic, I loved ORIGINAL SINS. Riley Fisher just might be my favourite ever detective!
New York Times
A nimble, assured thriller

Events