We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Paperback / ISBN-13: 9781909770706

Price: £8.99

ON SALE: 28th April 2022

Genre: Biography & True Stories

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

On 6th September 1949, twenty-eight-year-old Howard Barton Unruh shot thirteen people in less than twelve minutes on his block in East Camden, New Jersey. The shocking true story of the first recorded mass shooting in America has never been told, until now.

The sky was cloudless that morning when twelve-year-old Raymond Havens left his home on River Road. His grandmother had sent him to get a haircut at the barbershop across the street – where he was about to witness his neighbour and friend Howard open fire on the customers inside.

Told through the eyes of young Raymond, who had visited Howard regularly to listen to his war stories, and the mother trying to piece together the disturbing inner workings of her son’s mind, Murder in the Neighbourhood uncovers the chilling true story of Howard Unruh, the quiet loner who meticulously plotted his revenge on the neighbours who shunned him and became one of America’s first mass killers.

With Ellen’s access to Howard’s diaries, newly released police reports and psychiatric records alongside interviews with surviving family members, Murder in the Neighbourhood is a compulsive page-turner that will have you asking – how well do we ever really know those around us? Are we ever really safe?

A gripping untold true story that will leave your heart pounding. Perfect for fans of In Cold Blood, If You Tell and American Predator.

Read what everyone is saying about Murder in the Neighbourhood:

‘An engrossing and utterly fascinating insight into a chilling and untold part of American history… impossible to put down.’ Gregg Olsen, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of If You Tell

‘A phenomenal read… incredible insight to human behavior and the brain. Green did a remarkable job bringing this tragedy to life through a haunting and encapsulating narration. I will recommend this piece of work over and over.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

God! I can’t get enough of it! I wish I could read the book for the first time again!… fantastic.’ Chubby girl with a page-a-vu, 5 stars

An absolute cracker of an account… Brilliant.’ Nigel Adams Bookworm, 5 stars

‘I really enjoyed… very cleverly written… a fascinating and detailed accountI would recommend it to true crime aficionados.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

‘An arresting, exciting, compelling tale of true crime. Meticulously researched and pieced together into a narrative that is difficult to tear away from.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘Remarkable… A must for true crime fans.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘If you like true crime then I 100% recommend you read this book.’ Goodreads reviewer

An excellent read.‘ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Well-crafted true crime that’s been wonderfully researched.’ Book Zone

What's Inside

Read More Read Less