We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Alison Weir, Anne O’Brien and Elizabeth Chadwick, Deborah Swift brings a unique period in history to vivid, fascinating life in her acclaimed Pepys trilogy.



‘Laced with emotional intensity and drama, Pleasing Mr Pepys…(has) an intricate plot that features red herrings, unexpected twists, and surprises that will take readers on a very delightful ride’ Readers’ Favorite

‘Deb Willet, Elizabeth Pepys’s maid and the object of Samuel Pepys’s attentions, is finally given centre-stage after 350 years, and her tale was worth waiting for. This is exceptional story-telling’ L. C. Tyler

From acclaimed historical novelist Deborah Swift, Pleasing Mr Pepys is the story of diarist Samuel Pepys’ London, vibrantly told through the eyes of his maid.

Deb Willet is desperate to escape her domineering aunt and takes a position as companion to Elisabeth Pepys, Samuel’s wife. Deb believes it will give her the respectability and freedom she craves – but it proves far more complicated than she could ever have imagined.

London is still in ruins from the Great Fire. Although Charles II has been restored to the throne, there is the prospect of war with the Dutch – the world’s great sea power of the era. In the midst of this tumult strides Samuel Pepys, diarist and man of note.

Pepys’ influence in Restoration London means that the Dutch are keen to get their hands on his secrets – even if that means murder, espionage and blackmail to get them. Deb is soon caught up in a web of deception and double-dealing. And with Mr Pepys’ attentions turned towards her, there’s a lot more than treason at stake…

Selling other people’s secrets is a dangerous game…

Praise for Pleasing Mr Pepys:

‘Swift is a consummate historical novelist, basing her books on immaculate research and then filling the gaps between real events and real people with eloquent storytelling, atmospheric scene setting and imaginative plot lines’ The Visitor

‘Laced with emotional intensity and drama’ Readers’ Favorite

‘Pepys and his world spring to vibrant life…Gripping, revealing and stunningly imagined, Pleasing Mr Pepys is guaranteed to please’ Lancashire Evening Post

Don’t miss Deborah Swift’s other enthralling tales of Samuel Pepys – A Plague of Mr Pepys and Entertaining Mr Pepys – out now!

Women Of Pepys' Diary Series