Top

We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

The Star and the Strange Moon

On sale

14th November 2023

Price: £16.99

Select a format

Selected: Paperback / ISBN-13: 9780349425986

Disclosure: If you buy products using the retailer buttons above, we may earn a commission from the retailers you visit.

From the author of A Witch in Time comes a haunting tale of ambition, obsession, and the eternal mystery and magic of film – perfect for fans of The Night Circus and The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue.

A vanished star. A haunted film. A mystery only love can unravel . . .

1968: Gemma Turner once dreamed of stardom. Now she’s on the cusp of obscurity. When she’s offered the lead in a radical new horror film, Gemma believes her luck has changed – but her dream is about to turn into a nightmare. One night, between the shadows of an alleyway, Gemma disappears on set and is never seen again. Yet she’s still alive. She’s been pulled into the film. And the script – and the monsters within it – are coming to life. Gemma must play her role perfectly if she hopes to survive.

2007: Gemma Turner’s disappearance is one of Hollywood’s greatest mysteries – one that’s haunted film student Christopher Kent ever since he saw L’Étrange Lune for the first time. The screenings only happen once a decade, and each time, there is new, impossible footage of Gemma that shouldn’t exist. Curiosity drives Christopher to unravel the truth. But answers to the film’s mystery may leave him trapped by it forever . . .

The Star and the Strange Moon will cast its spell on you’ Paula Brackston, New York Times bestselling author

‘A sweeping tale of dark magic, artistic obsession, and a love unbound from the limits of time’ Paulette Kennedy, bestselling author of The Witch of Tin Mountain

Reviews

Paulette Kennedy, bestselling author of The Witch of Tin Mountain
At once a sweeping tale of dark magic, artistic obsession, and a love unbound from the limits of time, The Star and the Strange Moon captivates with lush prose and moments of poignant, heartbreaking beauty. A soaring celebration of female agency and the power of free will, this is Constance Sayers at her finest
Paula Brackston, New York Times bestselling author
Be warned! The Star and the Strange Moon will cast its spell on you. Constance Sayers has created a book of worlds within worlds. Like the main characters, the reader is irresistibly drawn into the dangerous intrigue and dark truth at the heart of the story. Highly recommended!