We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Set against the glorious

backdrop of World War Two Ireland, this dramatic, emotional and romantic novel is perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy, Lorna Cook, Tracy Rees and Jenny Ashcroft!

‘A romantic saga writer to watch’ PETERBOROUGH TELEGRAPH

She lost everything in one night. Now she must fight for happiness.

It’s 1943 and Ireland has escaped the worst of the war raging in Europe, but life is not without its hardships. When fire breaks out at the convent in Cavan where she has spent the past ten years, orphan Eva Fallon barely escapes with her life.

She’s offered a bed for the night by Ma Scully, whilst her nephew Cathal, visiting from Dublin, helps battle the blaze. Seventeen-year-old Eva has never known such kindness but she’s too proud to take advantage, and finds a job at Blackstock’s farm, setting in motion a chain of events that will change her life forever.

Amidst tragedy and hardship, the only ray of light is the friendship of Ma Scully and her growing, secret love for Cathal. And through it all Eva clings to her hope that one day she will find a place where she can truly belong.

Don’t miss Cathy Mansell’s next powerfully heartrending family saga of three sisters in 1950s Ireland – The Dublin Girls – out now! Here’s what readers are saying:

‘Glorious – a cross between Maeve Binchy and Catherine Cookson’ 5* early reader review

‘A superb saga’ PETERBOROUGH TELEGRAPH

‘A heart-warming story full of characters you’ll come to love’ ROSIE GOODWIN

‘Page-turning and compelling… Most highly recommended’ MARGARET KAINE

‘Rarely have I read a book where every character springs from the pages so authentically’ JEAN CHAPMAN

‘A warm-hearted, engaging story’ MARGARET JAMES, WRITING MAGAZINE