We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A Fine Tapestry of Murder

A Fine Tapestry of Murder

A compelling historical murder mystery set amongst the artists in seventeenth-century Paris. For fans of C.J. Sansom and S.J. Parris.

‘A rich and achingly beautiful novel’ – Carol McGrath (author of the Daughters of Hastings trilogy) on An Artist in Her Own Right.


Paris, 1676. When a body washes up on the banks of the Bièvre river, a young woman finds herself embroiled in an intricate murder case.

At first it seems mere coincidence that the dead man was discovered outside the Royal Manufactory of the Gobelins, home to a community of artists and craftsmen. He was not one of them, after all. But Anne-Marie, a sculptor’s wife, soon realises that the victim may well be known within the walls of the Gobelins – and that the killer might be amongst them.

With the police apparently disinterested, it is a mystery that is hers alone to solve. Anne-Marie’s investigations will take her from the unsavoury slums of the Ile Notre-Dame to the grand ducal residences of the Place Royale. But who can she truly trust on the streets of Paris?

Readers LOVED An Artist in Her Own Right:

‘A wonderful blend of fact and fiction that I literally read in two sittings

Alive with action and colour’

‘The ebb and flow of relationships, between family members and artists, are beautifully conceived and nuanced

‘Wonderful imaginative detail’
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Crime & Mystery / Historical Mysteries

On Sale: 6th August 2020

Price: £9.99

ISBN-13: 9781786157522