We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

A gripping thriller you won’t be able to put down, perfect for fans of SUSIE STEINER and CLARE MACKINTOSH

‘SO enjoyable. Great characterisation… tense, grippy plot. An EXCELLENT read!’ MARIAN KEYES

How could your good friend become your worst enemy?

Being held hostage at gunpoint by her childhood friend is not Dr Heather Gilmore’s idea of a good day at work. It only gets worse when she hears that her nineteen-year-old daughter Leah has been kidnapped.

Sergeant Claire Boyle wasn’t expecting to get caught up in a hostage situation during a doctor’s appointment. When it becomes apparent that the kidnapping is somehow linked to the hostage-taker, a woman called Eileen Delaney, she is put in charge of finding the missing girl.

What happened between Eileen and Heather to make Eileen so determined to ruin her old friend? Claire Boyle must dig up the secrets from their pasts to find out – and quickly, because Leah is still missing, and time is running out to save her.

Reviews

A compulsively readable thriller [and] an absorbing variation on the "domestic noir" genre
Irish Times (on Are You Watching Me?)
A crackingly-paced thriller, featuring a totally believable female detective
Sunday Mirror (on Are You Watching Me?)
Crowley has created a new twist to the crime-writing genre
Belfast Telegraph (on Are You Watching Me?)
Brilliantly original and genuinely scary
Sunday Mirror (on Can Anybody Help Me?)
A gripping, fast-paced tale
Irish Times (on Can Anybody Help Me?)
Chilling, riveting and brilliantly written, you'll be up reading this way into the night
Closer (on Can Anybody Help Me?)
Believable characters combined with escalating tension make this an edge-of-your-seat read
Elly Griffiths (on Can Anybody Help Me?)
Disturbing and emotional . . . I loved this book
Alex Marwood (on Can Anybody Help Me?)
Gripping and twisty and unputdownable - highly recommended
William Ryan
A brilliant twisty claustrophobic ride of a book
Colette McBeth
[Her] best one yet
Louise O'Neill
Sensationally good
Irish Times
Races along at a blistering pace
Sunday Mirror
Does not disappoint for a second . . . Brilliantly plotted and structured, I gasped aloud as I watched the unfolding story of childhood pals becoming mortal enemies . . . This is a corker of a book, compellingly readable, intriguing and hugely enjoyable
Liz Nugent, author of Lying in Wait
A perfectly engineered crime novel where slow-burning grievances lead to explosive actions. Crowley is brilliant at creating gripping scenarios that make your heart beat faster
Jane Casey, author of the DS Maeve Kerrigan series
Extremely well-structured and brilliantly paced . . . cements Sinead Crowley's status as one of Ireland's best crime writers
Irish Independent
So enjoyable. Great characterisation, social commentary and a tense, grippy plot. An excellent read
Marian Keyes