Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Rage and Retribution

Rage and Retribution

Can two wrongs ever make a right?

A man is found by the side of a canal, comatose and brutally attacked.

It quickly becomes clear that someone is abducting men and subjecting them to horrific acts of torture. After three days they’re released, fighting for their lives and refusing to speak.

A councillor is accused of fraud.

Montague Mason is an upstanding member of the community. That is until he’s publicly accused of stealing the youth centre’s funds – an accusation that threatens to rip through the very heart of the community and expose his best-kept secret. But how far would he go to protect himself?

Two cases. One deadly answer.

As the two cases collide, D.I. Paolo Sterling finds he has more questions than answers. And, when torture escalates to murder, he suddenly finds himself in a race against time to find the killer and put an end to the depravity – once and for all.

‘A dark, cleverly plotted tale . . . I was gripped from the opening scene and raced through the book to its final, shocking ending. Crime writing at its very best‘ Sheila Bugler

‘Gritty, topical, sometimes lacerating, but always enthralling. A truly compulsive read‘ Abbie Frost

Lorraine Mace brings us the fourth instalment in her dark, gritty and shocking series featuring DI Paolo Sterling – perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter, Tess Gerritsen and Mo Hayder.

Readers love the D.I. Sterling thrillers:

I could not put my kindle down while reading this!’ *****

A real page turner‘ *****

Gripping, gritty and gruesome. A perfect start to a new series!’ *****

‘An absolutely brilliant read’ *****

‘A gritty and gripping thriller that kept me turning the pages’ *****

Wow!!! What a book!!!‘ *****

Dark, disturbing yet utterly gripping!‘ *****

‘This series is now a firm favourite of mine and I’m looking forward to the next one’ *****

‘Every book I’ve read in the series has been fantastic‘ *****
Read More

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Thriller / Suspense

On Sale: 13th February 2020

Price: £2.99

ISBN-13: 9781786156846

Reviews

Her assured and fluid writing style truly brings characters and scenes to life on the page
Rachel Abbott
Gripping, fast-paced
Sheila Bugler, Hunting Shadows
A visceral, no-punches-pulled, gut-wrenching thriller... Crime Noir at its darkest
Caroline Dunford
D.I. Paolo Sterling is instantly engaging - Children in Chains is a dark, gripping and unflinching read
Louise Phillips, winner of the Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year
From page one the reader is parachuted into the epicentre of calculated, sinister murder. The pace is unrelenting as Mace presses on, hot on the heels of the enigmatic Pretender
Anna Legat, author of Sandman
Gripping, fast-paced crime fiction with a compelling central character
Sheila Bugler
Every time I thought I had it figured out, another spanner was thrown in the works and all my amateur detective work was thrown out the window!
K T Robson Reviews
Retriever of Souls is sinister, menacing and jam-packed with jaw dropping twists and turns . . .
Bookish Jottings
Delve into the dark side. Well-constructed with unflinching plots. Satisfying enough for the most discerning crime reader.
Ruth Dugdall
Fast-paced and compulsive reading with tension ratcheted to the max. D.I. Paolo Sterling's humanity is tested by gut-wrenching crimes and damaged killers.
Chris Curran

The DI Sterling Series