We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

She has the chance to achieve her dreams – but at what cost?

June Tate writes a gripping saga in For Love or Money – a story of ambition, taking chances and making choices. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and Kate Thompson.


Connie Ryan has wanted to be a star from the age of ten. It is her destiny, of that she is convinced. But, coming from a working class family, there seems little hope of her achieving her ambition. Then the chance of a lifetime is offered to her when bookmaker Les Baxter, a rich and powerful older man with friends in all the right (and wrong) places, offers to become her benefactor and manager.

At just eighteen, Connie has a wise head on her young shoulders and makes sure that Les’s interest is strictly business. But as Connie climbs the ladder of success, Les begins to change towards her. Connie’s passage along the trail to stardom is stormy and sometimes dangerous until she eventually has to make a choice – will it be love or money?

What readers are saying about For Love or Money:

‘Connie is as compelling as her ambition and the story had me moved to tears during a touching scene, and laughter at the wonderfully drawn working class background. It’s a super read, I’d recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good involving story

Brilliant

Five stars

Reviews

A page-turner for all saga lovers
Katie Fforde
Excellent and gripping... compelling. I am eagerly awaiting June Tate's next offering
Sussex Life
Her debut book caused a stir among Cookson and Cox devotees, and they'll love this
Peterborough Evening Telegraph
Tate has a marvellous grasp of the subtleties and complexities of human relationships. Her books are always guaranteed to touch the hearts of her readers
Lancashire Evening Post
Compulsive reading
Woman’s Weekly