We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

Emotional, page-turning women’s fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Will Nancy dare to risk a second chance at love with a man her family and friends tell her is totally unsuitable? Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans.

Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy’s babysitting services, it seems Nancy’s fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has.

Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark.
But Nancy’s family don’t trust Jim one bit. They’re convinced he’ll break her heart, maybe run off with her money – he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities.

Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family’s side and walk away from one last chance for love?

Reviews

Boyd is as canny as Joanna Trollope at observing family life - and better than Trollope at jokes
Daily Mail
Poignant, well-observed and wonderfully written ... a heartstring-puller
Closer
Thoroughly enjoyable read . . . a real page turner
Good Housekeeping
This story is engrossing . . . one of my favourite books of the year
Mature Times
I found myself instantly gripped . . . a romance in the Joanna Trollope vein
The Times
A gentle but emotionally charged drama
Sunday Mirror
Warm-hearted and with a beady eye, Boyd gets under the skin of her characters to show that falling in love isn't limited to the young
Sunday Express
A warm-hearted story of families, trust and second-chance love
Sunday Mirror
Hilary Boyd in her inimitable fashion has told the story yet again of mature love which, like an excellent vintage wine, is just waiting to burst out of its barrels, freed from the constraint of convention and the inevitable signs of ageing
My Weekly