Search results for: 'james heneage'

Quercus

A World on Fire

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage
Quercus

By Blood Divided

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage

Destiny, inheritance, the world shifting from east to west. This is an epic novel set in an age of dramatic change.Siward, scion of a great dynasty, commands the Varangian Guard and has vowed to defend the Roman Empire to the last. Makkim, renowned general to Ottoman rule, has vowed to destroy it.They are enemies in war, but unknown to them, they are also rivals to inherit one of Europe's greatest fortunes. Even worse, they are competing for the love of the same woman.Their vast inheritance lies in Venice, as does the famous courtesan they both love. She is the reason they will find themselves fighting on the walls of Constantinople, in one of the most dramatic sieges in history.

Heron Books

Rise of Empires Omnibus

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage

'Fascinating historical mysteries and vivid colourful characters. One hell of a fine book' - CONN IGGULDEN This special collection brings together the three books in the Rise of Empires Chronicles: The Walls of Byzantium, The Towers of Samarcand and The Lion of Mistra. The Walls of ByzantiumIn an age of clashing empires, dark forces from the east are endangering the first light of the western Renaissance. It is an age of ruthless rulers, divided churches, fractured dynasties and intrepid traders. It is an age of great cities like Venice and Constantinople; an age of conquerors like Tamerlane who will drown the world in blood; an age when only a hero of exceptional gifts can make a difference. Luke Magoris is that hero. Born the son of one of the Varangian guards who had sworn to keep the secret relic safe, he will find himself committed to a long journey to discover - and try to avoid - his destiny. He will travel from battle to trading fortune, from horse dealing to captivity, and to the love of three very different women and the unrelenting enmity of two remarkable men. The Towers of SamarcandA select band of soldiers led by Luke Magoris are given the mission of persuading Tamerlane to defend Constantinople. The great conqueror must turn his forces to the West to fight the Ottomans. Luke is trained as a Mongol warrior to impress Tamerlane and his army before joining his fellow Varangian guards, descendants of the men who once brought a vital treasure out of Constantinople. It is this treasure, some say, that can still save the empire - uniting the Christian churches of the east and west in one final triumphant crusade to smite the Ottomans. No longer an innocent patriot, Luke is caught in the crossfire and begins to question if his mission is honourable - or whether those who sent him have the best interests of Byzantium at heart. The Lion of MistraRome never fell. The empire continued as Byzantium. This epic historical novel concerns one man's role in saving the empire.The Ottoman Turks are at the gates of Constantinople and Luke Magoris, descended from princes of England, has to find a fortune to build defences for his beloved Mistra, the last glorious outpost of Imperial Rome, as well as saving the Emperor. He turns to China, to the Ming Empire, for trade and to Renaissance Italy for its rapidly developing banks. Both are entirely new roles for Luke and his Varangian brotherhood and many pitfalls befall him. And yet the Varangian treasure - which only he can uncover - may hold the key to all.

Heron Books

The Lion of Mistra

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage
Jo Fletcher Books

Path of Gods

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

The epic conclusion to The Valhalla Saga, perfect for fans of Vikings and The Last Kingdom.Reunited, Audun and Ulfar have a new sense of purpose: to ensure that the North remains in the hands of those who hold with the old gods. To do this, they must defeat the people who seek to destroy all they have ever known with the new White Christ. But these are powerful enemies and if they have any chance of victory, they must find equally powerful allies. In Trondheim, King Olav, self-appointed champion of the White Christ, finds that keeping the peace is a much harder test of his faith than winning the war. With his garrison halved and local chieftains at his table who wish him nothing but ill, the king must decide how and where to spread the word of his god. And in the North, touched by the trickster god, something old, malevolent and very, very angry stirs . . .'Fans of David Gemmell's work should feel right at home with this one' Starburst Magazine

Heron Books

The Towers of Samarcand

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage

'One hell of a fine book' Conn IgguldenCAN THE GREATEST WARRIOR OF THE AGE AND A LOST ANGLO-SAXON TREASURE BE UNITED IN TIME TO RESCUE CONSTANTINOPLE?A select band of soldiers led by Luke Magoris are given the mission of persuading Tamerlane to defend Constantinople. The great conqueror must turn his forces to the West to fight the Ottomans, who otherwise would destroy Constantinople and the Byzantine empire. Luke, torn away from the woman he loves and all he knows, is trained as a Mongol warrior to impress Tamerlane and his army before joining his fellow Varangian guards, descendants of the men who once brought a vital treasure out of Constantinople. It is this treasure, some say, that can still save the empire - uniting the Christian churches of the east and west in one final triumphant crusade to smite the Ottomans. No longer an innocent patriot, Luke is caught in the crossfire and begins to question if his mission is honourable - or whether those who sent him have the best interests of Byzantium at heart. The Towers of Samarcand is a powerful historical novel full of lively characters and enthralling scenes of battle, wealth, beliefs and trade in a part of the world torn by the clash of empires.

Jo Fletcher Books

Blood Will Follow

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson

In this epic new entry to The Valhalla Saga, blood will be spilled, bonds will be tested and long-buried secrets will be revealed . . .Ulfar Thormodsson and Audun Arngrimsson survived the battle for Stenvik, although at huge cost. They have suffered much worse than heartbreak: they have lost the very thing that made them human. Their mortality. While Ulfar heads home, looking for the place where he thinks he will be safe, Audun runs south. But both men are about to discover that they cannot run away from themselves. King Olav has left the conquered town of Stenvik in the hands of his lieutenant so he can journey north, following Valgard in the search for the source of the Vikings' power. And all the while older beings watch and wait, biding their time. There are secrets yet to be discovered . . .'Fans of David Gemmell's work should feel right at home with this one' Starburst Magazine

Jo Fletcher Books

Swords of Good Men

Snorri Kristjansson
Authors:
Snorri Kristjansson
Heron Books

The Walls of Byzantium

James Heneage
Authors:
James Heneage

This sweeping historical novel is shaped by the quest for a mysterious relic, guarded through generations, and by one man that might yet save the threatened Byzantine empire. In an age of clashing empires, dark forces from the east are endangering the first light of the western Renaissance. It is an age of ruthless rulers, divided churches, fractured dynasties and intrepid traders. It is an age of great cities like Venice and Constantinople; an age of conquerors like Tamerlane who will drown the world in blood; an age when only a hero of exceptional gifts can make a difference. Luke Magoris is that hero. Born the son of one of the Varangian guards who had sworn to keep the secret relic safe, he will find himself committed to a long journey to discover - and try to avoid - his destiny. He will travel from battle to trading fortune, from horse dealing to captivity, and to the love of three very different women and the unrelenting enmity of two remarkable men. The Walls of Byzantium is the first of a series that will leave you impatient and longing for the next.

Quercus

The People of the Sky

Walton Golightly
Authors:
Walton Golightly
Quercus

Shaka the Great

Walton Golightly
Authors:
Walton Golightly
Quercus

Amazulu

Walton Golightly
Authors:
Walton Golightly

1818, south east Africa: on the summit of a low hill, encircled by a foe six times their number, fifteen hundred men armed with cowhide shields and short stabbing spears sit and wait as the midday sun blazes overhead. Calm in the face of the horde gathering below, they know it's a good day for dying. but a better one for killing. At the centre of their formation a tall, broad-shouldered man surveys his troops. Only at his command will they rise and engage the enemy. He is Shaka, his men are Zulu - the best trained foot soldiers in Africa - and the blood spilled in the coming battle will write the opening chapter of their legend.Following in Shaka's footsteps, AmaZulu sweeps across the burned hills of south east Africa's interior, charting the dawn of the Zulu nation through the eyes of the Induna, a battle-scarred captain, and his eleven-year-old apprentice. Aflame with conflict and intrigue, nobility and treachery, it tells the story of an unquenchable thirst for revenge and a genius for warfare that forged an empire as powerful and revered as Napoleon's France or Caesar's Rome.

James Heneage

James Heneage is the founder of the Ottakars chain of bookshops and the co-founder of the Chalke Valley History Festival. He has been fascinated by history, in particular Byzantine history, since a child. He now lives part of the year in the Peloponnese, where he has written much of his fiction to date. Otherwise he lives near Salisbury with his wife and family.

Snorri Kristjansson

Snorri Kristjansson was born in Iceland and is a writer and a teacher, as well as a stand-up comedian, actor and musician. He currently lives in Edinburgh with his artist wife. The Valhalla Saga, his Viking fantasy series, and The Helga Finnsdottir books, his Viking historical/crime series, are all published by Jo Fletcher Books.

Walton Golightly

Born in 1966, Walton Golightly is a freelance writer from Durban, KwaZulu-Natal - on the doorstep of what used to be the Zulu Kingdom. He's a film buff with a passion for Spaghetti Westerns, '70s action movies and the films of Jean Luc Goddard. AmaZulu is his first novel. He shares his life with a few thousand books and two dogs. Occasionally the dogs let him sleep on the bed