index

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

The Coffin Path

By Katherine Clements
Authors:
Katherine Clements
The Coffin Path by Katherine Clements is an eerie and compelling seventeenth-century ghost story set on the dark wilds of the Yorkshire moors. For fans of Michelle Paver and Sarah Waters, this gothic tale will weave its way into your imagination and chill you to the bone. 'The vibrant new voice of historical fiction' - Suzannah Dunn.Mercy Booth has lived at Scarcross, the old hall just off the coffin path, for all her life. The moors and the house are in her blood - and her soul. Ellis Ferreby is a mysterious, unpredictable outsider who arrives there unexpectedly and finds himself increasingly drawn into her world. But the house holds a tainted history. And the moor top hides something far darker...
  • More
  • The Chosen Seed

    By Sarah Pinborough
    Authors:
    Sarah Pinborough
    His nephew has been kidnapped and, as he works desperately to save Luke, Detective Inspector Cass Jones has been framed for murder. He's on the run, being hunted by former colleagues, and is unwelcome wherever he goes ... until he gets help from a very unexpected figure from his past. Detectives Hask and Ramsey are on a different case - searching for the killer behind the lethal Strain II virus currently sweeping its way through London ... a search which throws up an unexpected clue that suggests Cass might be innocent of murder after all. But when they're ordered not to investigate further, they realise the mystery behind the murder is far greater than they thought.Somehow it's linked to Mr Bright, and to the Network which manipulates everyone from the shadows. A rift is growing between these rival factions as Strain II takes a firmer hold on the city, and as the Interventionists warn of a final battle which will bring them all together - or, once and for all, tear everything apart.Cass Jones is going up against The Bank and its sinister employees one last time. He needs every ally he can get, and this time he means to find answers - even if he has to uncover the true history of humanity to do it. And the more he learns, the more everything hinges on finding Luke ...Set in a future that's close enough to touch, Sarah Pinborough's series combines the streetwise grime of a George Pelecanos mystery with the near-future dystopian setting of Richard Morgan.
    • More

    The Cave - Quick Read

    By Kate Mosse
    Authors:
    Kate Mosse
    A QUICK READ - part of the WORLD BOOK DAY 2009 literacy initiative for emergent readers.March 1928. Freddie Smith is on a motoring holiday in the mountains of south west France. He is caught in a violent storm and his car crashes. He is forced to seek shelter in a boarding house in the nearby village of Axat.There he meets another guest in the tiny hotel, a pale and beautiful young woman called Marie. As the storm rages outside, she explains how the region was ripped apart by wars of religion in the 14th century. She tells how, one terrible night in March 1328, all the inhabitants of Axat were forced to flee from the soldiers into the mountains. The villagers took refuge in a cave, but when the fighting was over, no one came back. Their bodies were never found. Axat itself became a ghost town.When Freddie wakes the following morning, Marie has gone. Worse still, his car will take several days to repair and he has to stay at the boarding house for a few days more. To pass the time, he explores the mountains. Then he realises it is almost 600 years to the day since the villagers disappeared. He decides to go and look for the cave himself. Perhaps, he thinks, he might even find Marie? It is a decision he will live to regret.

    Contagious

    By Scott Sigler
    Authors:
    Scott Sigler
    Scott Sigler is the voice in modern horror - and the INFECTED trilogy is a terrifying, menacing series that will leave you sleepless.When the seeds landed on Chelsea Jewell, they made her seven-year-old body and mind the incubator for the worst plague ever to attack the planet.Mankind's best hope of defence is Perry Dawsey: host-turned-hunter, bloodthirsty psychotic, and - with strange new powers - a key member of the black-ops team leading a deadly battle against the mysterious disease that is spreading across America.Now Dawsey and the rest of the black-ops team are in a desperate race to find and destroy Chelsea and her so-called family - before it's too late.
    • More

    Classic Ghost Stories

    By Various
    Authors:
    Various
    Seven outstanding ghost stories from five masters of the genre. The Signalman by Charles Dickens, The Watcher by Robert Benson, The Moonlit Road by Ambrose Bierce, Dog or Demon by Theo Gift and The Judge's House by Bram Stoker.

    Chase

    By Dean Koontz
    Authors:
    Dean Koontz
    Ben Chase is a war hero with bitter memories. Vietnam left him with a hard drinking habit, a mental breakdown - and massive guilt. So who will believe him when he swears a psychopath is out to get him? When society is sick, the mad are sane - and persecution is a killer's game...
    • More
    1