Anna Claybourne - Macbeth - Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats Books in this series


By Anna Claybourne
Illustrated by Tom Morgan-Jones

Short, Sharp Shakespeare Stories put the fun back into Shakespeare, re-telling his most famous plays in a highly accessible way.

Is this a dagger which I see before me...?

A power-hungry general, his crazed wife, three interfering witches and some terrifying ghosts... Read on, through murder and mayhem, to discover the gripping story of Macbeth, one of Shakespeare's most famous tragedies.

Contains information about the background to Macbeth, its major themes, language, and Shakespeare's life during the time he was writing the play. Witches and witchcraft in 16th century England are also examined, to give the context in which the play was written.

The Short, Sharp Shakespeare series consists of six books that retell Shakespeare's most famous plays in modern English. Clever illustrations accompany each title, making them a great introduction to the Bard for children aged 9 and above.

Biographical Notes

Anna Claybourne has written over 150 children's books on all kinds of subjects, from sharks, black holes and splitting the atom to how to draw, Shakespeare's life, and Greek myths and legends. She likes space, sewing and music, plays the trombone and loves going camping.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780750291095
  • Publication date: 09 Oct 2014
  • Page count: 80
  • Imprint: Wayland