A. L. Tait - Race to the End of the World - Group

Race to the End of the World

The Mapmaker Chronicles Book 1 - a bestselling adventure for fans of Emily Rodda and Rick Riordan

By A. L. Tait

Adventure and danger lie just off the edge of the map in this swashbuckling new trilogy!

Adventure and danger lie just off the edge of the map in this swashbuckling new trilogy!

'A map of the world? Why did the King need one of those? Besides, everyone knew that if you went too far in either direction you'd fall off the edge, and if that didn't kill you Genesi the dragon of death would be waiting.'

The King is determined to discover what lies beyond the known world, and has promised a handsome prize to the ship's captain who can bring him a map of the whole globe. To do that, they'll need mapmakers - and 14-year-old Quinn is shocked to be one of the chosen. While his older brothers long for adventure, Quinn is content with a quiet life on the farm, but when word of his special talent gets out, he has no choice but to pack his bags and join the mismatched crew of slaves and stowaways on board the Libertas.

The other competitors will do anything to win, but the greatest danger may come from the strange sea monster hot on their tail or the mysterious uncharted lands for which they are bound. Nobody knows what lies off the edge of the map, but Quinn is about to find out that it's more than anyone bargained for . . .

'Not since Emily Rodda's Deltora Quest series has there been such an exciting adventure tale from an Australian author' Readings

A 2015 CBCA NOTABLE BOOK

SHORTLISTED FOR THE READINGS PRIZE

themapmakerchronicles.com

Biographical Notes

A. L. Tait grew up dreaming of world domination. Unfortunately, at the time there were only alphabet sisters B. L. and C. A. and long-suffering brother M. D. M. to practise on . . . and parents who didn't look kindly upon sword fights, plank-walking or bows and arrows. But dreams don't die and The Mapmaker Chronicles and The Ateban Cipher, the author's two series of books for children, are the result. A. L. lives in country New South Wales with a family, a garden, three goldfish and a very cheeky border collie. A. L. Tait writes fiction and non-fiction for adults under another name.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780734415776
  • Publication date: 06 Apr 2017
  • Page count: 256
  • Imprint: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Not since Emily Rodda's Deltora Quest series has there been such an exciting adventure tale from an Australian author. — Readings
Not since Emily Rodda's Deltora Quest series has there been such an exciting adventure tale from an Australian author. — Readings
Review and giveaway — Queensland Times
a story of bravery, courage and mystery. — Townsville Bulletin
Not since Emily Rodda's Deltora Quest series has there been such an exciting adventure tale from an Australian author.