Rachel Bach - Fortune's Pawn - Group

Time remaining

  • -- days
  • -- hours
  • -- minutes
  • -- seconds
Other Formats
  • E-Book £P.O.R.
    More information
    • ISBN:9781405525237
    • Publication date:05 Nov 2013
Books in this series

Fortune's Pawn

Book 1 of Paradox

By Rachel Bach

Fans of Firefly and Elizabeth Moon will lap up this action-packed military science fiction series. Welcome to the start of a thrilling new space adventure, starring female mercenary Deviana Morris . . .

Fans of Firefly and Elizabeth Moon will lap up this action-packed military science fiction series. Welcome to the start of a thrilling new space adventure, starring female mercenary Deviana Morris . . .

Deviana Morris isn't your average mercenary. She has plans. Big ones. And a ton of ambition. One of those is going to get her killed one day - but not just yet.

Not when she just got a job on a tiny trade ship with a nasty reputation for surprises. The Glorious Fool isn't misnamed: it likes to get into trouble. And with a reputation for bad luck that makes one year as security detail on this ship equal to five years everywhere else - Devi knows she's found the perfect way to get the jump on the next part of her Plan. But the Fool doesn't give up its secrets without a fight, and one year might be more than even Devi can handle.

Review for FORTUNE'S PAWN:

'This book kicked ass . . . I just loved it!' - FELICIA DAY

'Devi is hands-down one of the best sci-fi heroines I've read in years' - RT BOOK REVIEWS

'Rollicking space opera starring a tough, sexy, armor-clad space chick . . . [Bach] does a nice job of painting a scenario that, if familiar - think the space marines of the Alien franchise or the motley crew of Firefly - allows her plenty of room for action. And action aplenty is what she delivers . . . Lots of fun' - KIRKUS REVIEWS

Biographical Notes

Rachel Bach grew up wanting to be an author and a supervillain. Unfortunately, supervillainy proved surprisingly difficult to break into, so she stuck to writing and everything worked out great. She currently lives in Athens, GA with her family.

  • Other details

  • ISBN: 9780356502359
  • Publication date: 06 Feb 2014
  • Page count: 368
  • Imprint: Orbit
This book kicked ass . . . I just loved it! — Felicia Day
Bach does a good job of showing she's not just an unfeeling, feisty fighting machine, but has flaws and vulnerabilities in a light, fast-action space opera adventure which combines romance and military set pieces in equal measure — GUARDIAN
A compelling story that grabs you quickly and pulls you in — SFX
If you liked Star Wars, if you like the Kate Daniels series, and if you are waiting for Guardians of the Galaxy to hit the theaters, this is your book — Ilona Andrews
Devi is hands-down one of the best sci-fi heroines I've read in a long time — RT BOOK REVIEWS
Rollicking space opera starring a tough, sexy, armor-clad space chick . . . [Bach] does a nice job of painting a scenario that, if familiar - think the space marines of the Alien franchise or the motley crew of Firefly - allows her plenty of room for action. And action aplenty is what she delivers . . . Lots of fun — KIRKUS REVIEWS
Part military space opera, part star-crossed romance, all page-turner — WEEKEND HERALD (AUSTRALIA)
It's not often I get to use the words stunning and spectacular and superb all in the same sentence for a novel, but Fortune's Pawn is a novel that deserves all those epithets and more — THE FOUNDING FIELDS