index

Search Our Books

Book Title

Filter By

Clear all
Our books

East West Street

By Philippe Sands
Authors:
Philippe Sands
WINNER OF THE BAILLIE GIFFORD PRIZE AND THE JQ-WINGATE LITERARY PRIZE'A monumental achievement: profoundly personal, told with love, anger and great precision' - John le Carré'One of the most gripping and powerful books imaginable' - SUNDAY TIMES When he receives an invitation to deliver a lecture in the Ukrainian city of Lviv, international lawyer Philippe Sands begins a journey on the trail of his family's secret history. In doing so, he uncovers an astonishing series of coincidences that lead him halfway across the world, to the origins of international law at the Nuremberg trial. Interweaving the stories of the two Nuremberg prosecutors (Hersch Lauterpacht and Rafael Lemkin) who invented the crimes or genocide and crimes against humanity, the Nazi governor responsible for the murder of thousands in and around Lviv (Hans Frank), and incredible acts of wartime bravery, EAST WEST STREET is an unforgettable blend of memoir and historical detective story, and a powerful meditation on the way memory, crime and guilt leave scars across generations.
  • More
  • The Ghost Marriage

    By Peter May
    Authors:
    Peter May
    LI YAN AND MARGARET CAMPBELL RETURN IN A NEW SHORT STORY, YEARS AFTER THE DRAMATIC CONCLUSION OF CHINESE WHISPERS. 'I saw your missing girl at a ghost wedding last week. She was the bride.'It has been a whirlwind few years for Li Yan and Margaret Campbell. Nowadays, both are busy juggling their huge professional workloads - Li as the newly promoted chief of Beijing's serious crime squad, and Campbell as lecturer at the University of Public Security - with the day-to-day raising of their young son, Li Jon.When a desperate mother appeals to Campbell's own maternal instincts, Li agrees to look into the disappearance of a 17-year-old Beijing girl, Jiang Meilin.Yet Li's investigation soon turns from a favour into a full-scale murder enquiry. And when he receives an anonymous note he learns Jiang Meilin's death is tied to a dangerous underground trade, and a dark marital rite from China's past.
    • More
  • A Small-Town Bride

    By Hope Ramsay
    Authors:
    Hope Ramsay
    Cut off by her father, Amy Lyndon will do anything for a job. That's how she finds herself working for her cousin's best friend, Dusty McNeil, on the landscaping upgrade at Eagle Hill Manor. Dusty is unlike anyone Amy's ever met. He's taciturn and demanding, but he's also kind and knowledgeable and sexy. Surprisingly sexy.For Dusty McNeil, falling for Amy Lyndon is completely out of the question. She's the daughter of the most powerful man in the county, and she's just slumming it for the summer. But the more he gets to know Amy, the less he wants to make her life miserable and the more he wants to teach her about the things he loves.Dusty knows that whatever is between them can't last, not since he's locked in a legal battle with Amy's father over a valuable piece of land. But Amy is used to getting what she wants, and this time, she wants Dusty.
  • The Highland Duke

    By Amy Jarecki
    Authors:
    Amy Jarecki
    Lord George Gordon has much at risk and more to hide. Riding into battle with his cousin earned him a musket ball in his thigh and a price on his head. Now, he has no choice but to trust the healer who finds him.Akira Ayres knows the wounded, mysterious Highlander is a Jacobite, but she cannot let him die. When they're discovered by a murderous captain, they have no choice but to flee and fight their way north to safety. But if he isn't careful, the rakish Duke of Gordon could lose his life-and his once-hard heart-along the way.
  • Crazy for You

    By Rachel Lacey
    Authors:
    Rachel Lacey
    Ryan Blake certainly looks the part of a bad boy, what with his tattoos, motorcycle, and troubled past. But he's turned over a new leaf, and he's back in Haven, North Carolina, to prevent his teenaged brother from making the same mistakes. Also in town? Emma Rush, the younger sister of Ryan's Army buddy who died overseas, and the woman Ryan can't stop fantasizing about.Emma Rush has always done what's expected of her, and she's ready for a change. With Ryan back in town, she knows she's found the perfect person to help her walk on the wild side. As they spend more time together, Emma finds herself falling in love with the reformed bad boy. But when she gets accepted to an elite graduate program, she must decide between her old dream and her new one with Ryan.

    Phenomena

    By Annie Jacobsen
    Authors:
    Annie Jacobsen
    For more than forty years, the U.S. government, through various military and intelligence agencies, has invested millions in classified programs that study the role of mental telepathy, clairvoyance, precognition and other forms of extrasensory perception (ESP) as a means of intelligence collection for military and defense purposes. Now, for the first time, New York Times bestselling author Annie Jacobsen will tell the story of these programs, using interviews with the core group of individuals--including former Defense Department scientists, military officers, CIA analysts and researchers, an Apollo 14 astronaut, government psychics, and members of the Aviary--who ran these phenomena programs at the highest level of government. PHENOMENA will be a quest narrative - a story about how far man will journey in search of improbable and mysterious things - with documentation showing which of these improbable things might actually exist.
    • More

    Scraps, Wilt & Weeds

    By Mads Refslund, Tama Matsuoka Wong
    Authors:
    Mads Refslund, Tama Matsuoka Wong
    SCRAPS, WILT & WEEDS features 100 recipes by Mads Refslund, one of the initial partners at Noma, the world-renowned Danish restaurant, using local ingredients in a sustainable, no-waste fashion. Using scraps from vegetables, fruits and animal proteins--food that would normally go to waste--Refslund creates beautiful and accessible recipes for the home cook without sacrificing anything to flavor. He uses 100% of the ingredient or as close as possible, like potato peels, cauliflower stems, or fish skins, but also ingredients that are passed over as too young, like green strawberries, or too old, like stale bread, wrinkly potatoes or bolted herbs. Refslund shares easy-to-follow recipes like: Carrot Tops Pesto, Roasted Cauliflower Stalks with Mushrooms and Brie, Pork Ribs Glazed with Overripe Pear Sauce, Crispy Salmon Skin Puffs with Horseradish-Buttermilk Dip, and Beer and Bread porridge with Salted Caramel Ice Cream. In addition to delicious ingredient-focused recipes, the book contains informational sidebars and stories, insight into the parts of food we often waste, and a section on how to use leftovers, plus 100 beautiful photographs that express Refslund' passion and respect for ingredients, nature and the land.
  • The Reading Group: April (Book 4)

    By Della Parker
    Authors:
    Della Parker
    'Wonderful afternoon read with a cuppa!' Amazon Reviewer. Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Trisha Ashley and Milly Johnson.Meet the Reading Group: five women in the seaside village of Little Sanderton come together every month to share their love of reading. No topic is off-limits: books, family, love and loss . . . and don't forget the glass of red!This month the Reading Group are on Jane Eyre and Serena, who's headmistress of Poppins Private School, is half hoping that reality will echo fiction, as it has before, and she will meet her own Mr Rochester. This doesn't stop her from being slightly alarmed when her secretary arranges an appointment with Mr Winchester, the father of a troubled pupil.It would appear that Mr Winchester has an ex wife who is also rather troubled (or possibly completely deranged!). To add to the drama there is turbulence in Serena's own family too. Serena begins to wonder if being a romantic heroine is all it's cracked up to be...
  • The End of This Day's Business

    By Murray Constantine
    Authors:
    Murray Constantine
    Set more than four thousand years in the future, The End of This Day's Business depicts a truly utopian way of life, a global society in which distinct national cultures are preserved but coexist without competitive nationalism, violence, or war. Women, characterised as the reasonable sex in this society, care for the earth and all it's creatures. Only one price must be paid for this harmony. It is the subjection of men, who, stripped of their history and deprived of any knowledge of women's sacred rights, complacently accept their 'natural' inferiority. The plot turns on the desire of one woman, Grania, an artist and leader, to teacher her son what is forbidden for men to know. Risking both their lives, she tells the story of when men dominated, especially of the twentieth-century rise of fascism, and the subsequent world transformation as life-loving women took over from death-loving men.

    The Best of Margaret St Clair

    By Margaret St Clair
    Authors:
    Margaret St Clair
    Margaret St Clair is best known for her shorter science fiction and fantasy, much of the latter written under the pen name of Idris Seabright. She has a remarkably ironic sense of humor, and many of her stories have social or philosophical themes. Contents:Idris' Pig (1964)The Gardener (1949)Child of Void (1949)Hathor's Pets (1950)The Pillows (1950)The Listening Child (1950)Brightness Falls from the Air (1951)The Man Who Sold Rope to the Gnoles (1951)The Causes (1952)An Egg a Month from All Over (1952)Prott (1953)New Ritual (1953)Brenda (1954)Short in the Chest (1954)Horrer Howce (1956)The Wines of Earth (1957)The Invested Libido (1958)The Nuse Man (1960)An Old-Fashioned Bird Christmas (1961)Wryneck, Draw Me (1980)

    Three Worlds of Futurity

    By Margaret St Clair
    Authors:
    Margaret St Clair
    On Venus: An ancient and powerful Venusian race finds its ultimate evolution - but can they accept it?On Mars: The people of the Fourth Planet are eminently reasonable in all things - except for the cult of the Sacred Martian Pig, for which 'fanatic' would be entirely too reasonable a word.And on Earth: On the unknown world of one or ten centuries from now, the strangest stories of all become haunting, fascinating reality, as we find out that human beings are, after all, the most alien of creatures . . .

    The Dancers of Noyo

    By Margaret St Clair
    Authors:
    Margaret St Clair
    Like so many others before him, reluctant Sam MacGregor was sent on a pilgrimage for the Grail Vision by the Dancers: androids grown from the cells of one man, with the powers of hypnotism and illusion - androids who held the tribes of the Republic of California in thrall. But soon Sam began to doubt his own identity, for he experienced, in close succession, extra-lives in different corridors of time and space.And he count not know whom his search would destroy: the Dancers . . . or himself.

    The Shadow People

    By Margaret St Clair
    Authors:
    Margaret St Clair
    They had existed from time immemorial, hidden in a space warp far beneath the the surface of the Earth. Until now, their only form of nourishment had been a strange hallucinogenic grain. Now, they hungered for human flesh. The Earth was to be their stockyard and mankind their meat...