Search results for: 'kate mosse'

Sphere

The Fourteenth Letter

Claire Evans
Authors:
Claire Evans
Orion

The Taxidermist's Daughter

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Orion

Sepulchre

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse

A gripping tale of mystery and adventure from the bestselling author of THE TAXIDERMIST'S DAUGHTER and LABYRINTH.1891. Seventeen-year-old Léonie Vernier and her brother abandon Paris for the sanctuary of their aunt's isolated country house near Carcassonne, the Domaine de la Cade. But Léonie stumbles across a ruined sepulchre - and a timeless mystery whose traces are written in blood.2007. Meredith Martin arrives at the Domaine de la Cade to research a biography. But Meredith is also seeking the key to her own complex legacy and becomes immersed in the story of a tragic love, a missing girl, a unique deck of tarot cards and the strange events of one cataclysmic night a century ago...

Orion

Labyrinth

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Orion

Citadel

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse

An epic wartime novel from the No.1 bestselling author of LABYRINTH and THE MISTLETOE BRIDE.1942, Nazi-occupied France. Sandrine, a spirited and courageous nineteen-year-old, finds herself drawn into a Resistance group in Carcassonne - codenamed 'Citadel' - made up of ordinary women who are prepared to risk everything for what is right.And when she meets Raoul, they discover a shared passion for the cause, for their homeland, and for each other. But in a world where the enemy now lies in every shadow - where neighbour informs on neighbour; where friends disappear without warning and often without trace - love can demand the highest price of all...

Virago

Becoming A Mother

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Orion

The Mistletoe Bride and Other Haunting Tales

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Orion Children's Books

The Mystery of the Secret Room

Helen Moss, Leo Hartas
Contributors:
Helen Moss, Leo Hartas
Hamlyn

The Craft Library: Cool Knits for Kids

Kate Gunn, Robyn Macdonald
Authors:
Kate Gunn, Robyn Macdonald

Knitting is becoming an extremely popular hobby, with knitted items featuring highly in today's fashion industry and celebrities such as Madonna and Kate Moss publicly proclaiming their love for the craft. With Cool Knits for Kids you can create fab and fashionable items for all the cool kids you know. Containing 25 fresh, modern designs while retaining time-tested traditional techniques, this book provides a wide range of functional and fashionable items to keep your child warm, safe and looking great. With clear step-by-step guidance, lavish and detailed photography and complete explanations of all knitting techniques, knitters of all abilities will be able to produce everything from bootees and blankets to toys and sweaters.

Abacus

Night Falls On The City

Sarah Gainham
Authors:
Sarah Gainham

Vienna, 1938. Beautiful actress Julia Homburg and her politician husband Franz Wedeker embody all the enlightened brilliance of their native city. But Wedeker is Jewish, and just across the border the tanks of the Nazi Reich are primed for the Anschluss. When the SS invades and disappearances become routine, Franz must be concealed. With daring ingenuity, Julia conjures a hiding place. In the shadow of oppression, a clear conscience is a luxury few can afford, and Julia finds she must strike a series of hateful bargains with the new order if she and her husband are to survive.A highly acclaimed bestseller when first published in the 1960s, Night Falls on the City is a true lost classic, and an unforgettable portrait of wartime.

Sphere

The Map

T. S. Learner
Authors:
T. S. Learner

Mazes, riddles, witchcraft . . . and centuries-old secretsAn Oxford classics scholar has discovered an ancient scroll.A band of black-magic worshippers has gathered in London.A map to three labyrinths hidden within Europe has been unfolded.And an ancient mystery is calling . . .Pursued by spies and secret agents, guarding the map from unseen enemies, August Winthrop plunges headlong into a Europe ravaged by war. But the map will lead him farther than he ever dreamed - into a series of labyrinths with the power to change the world.From the Top 10 bestselling author of Sphinx comes the most dazzling novel of the year - a sophisticated, relentlessly exciting story in the tradition of Dan Brown, Robert Harris and Kate Mosse.

Orion

The Best Little Book Club in Town

. Various
Authors:
. Various
Orion

The Winter Ghosts

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse

March 1928. The Great War has been over for ten years, but Freddie still hasn't recovered from the loss of his brother. Even now, on holiday in south-west France, he cannot escape his grief. When his car crashes, Freddie stumbles down from the hills to a village nearby. There he meets Marie, a beautiful young woman who is also mourning a lost generation.Her story of the fate of her family moves him deeply. But it will also lead Freddie to the caves above the village - and to the heart of a shocking secret. By turns thrilling, poignant and haunting, this is a story of two lives touched by war and transformed by courage.Read by Julian Rhind-Tutt(p) 2009 Orion Publishing Group

Orion

The Cave - Quick Read

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse

A QUICK READ - part of the WORLD BOOK DAY 2009 literacy initiative for emergent readers.March 1928. Freddie Smith is on a motoring holiday in the mountains of south west France. He is caught in a violent storm and his car crashes. He is forced to seek shelter in a boarding house in the nearby village of Axat.There he meets another guest in the tiny hotel, a pale and beautiful young woman called Marie. As the storm rages outside, she explains how the region was ripped apart by wars of religion in the 14th century. She tells how, one terrible night in March 1328, all the inhabitants of Axat were forced to flee from the soldiers into the mountains. The villagers took refuge in a cave, but when the fighting was over, no one came back. Their bodies were never found. Axat itself became a ghost town.When Freddie wakes the following morning, Marie has gone. Worse still, his car will take several days to repair and he has to stay at the boarding house for a few days more. To pass the time, he explores the mountains. Then he realises it is almost 600 years to the day since the villagers disappeared. He decides to go and look for the cave himself. Perhaps, he thinks, he might even find Marie? It is a decision he will live to regret.

Orion

The Book Lovers' Appreciation Society

. Various
Authors:
. Various
Sphere

The Concubine's Secret

Kate Furnivall
Authors:
Kate Furnivall

China, 1929. For years Lydia Ivanova believed her father was killed by the Bolsheviks. But when she learns he is captive in Stalin-controlled Russia, the fiery-haired girl is willing to leave everything behind - even her Chinese lover, Chang An Lo. Journeying with her half-brother Alexei, Lydia begins a dangerous search. Tension grows between the two; for while Alexei is searching for his past, Lydia is looking for her future. Will that future include Chang An Lo? And will her father want this intrusion from the past? But when Alexei disappears, Lydia is left almost penniless in Soviet Russia - and doubting the choices she has made. Surrounded by dangers, she searches for information and soon finds herself entangled with a Russian officer.But Chang An Lo has not forgotten Lydia. He knows things about her father that she does not. And while he races to protect her, she is prepared to risk treacherous consequences to discover the truth . . .

Orion

Secrets of the Labyrinth

Greg Mosse
Authors:
Greg Mosse

Kate Mosse

Kate Mosse is the No 1 international bestselling author of six novels, three works of non fiction, three plays and short stories and essays. The first of her Languedoc Trilogy, Labyrinth, was a multi-million bestselling and critical success on an international scale. It won the Best Read category at the British Book Awards 2006, was No 1 in UK paperback for six months and was named as one of the Top 25 books of the past 25 years by Waterstones and was translated into thirty-eight languages. The second in the Languedoc Trilogy, Sepulchre, was also a worldwide bestseller, as was Citadel, the final novel in the series. Inspired by the forgotten women's stories of the Occupation in France, it tells the history of an all-female resistance unit in Carcassonne during World War II. Kate will be taking part in the inaugural event of the Resistance Studies Initiative at the University of Sussex in May. Other fiction includes the No 1 bestselling The Winter Ghosts and The Mistletoe Bride & Other Haunting Tales. Her non fiction includes Chichester Festival Theatre at Fifty and The House: Behind the Scenes at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Kate is the Co-Founder and Chair of the Board of the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (previously the Orange Prize). She is on the Board of the National Theatre and a Patron of the Sussex based Consort of Twelve and the Fishbourne Centre. In 2012, she won the 'Spirit of Everywoman Award' for services to literature. In 2013, she was named as one of the Bookseller's Top 100 most influential people in publishing and in January 2014 was included in the Sunday Times/Debretts 500 Most Influential People list in the UK. In June 2013, Kate was awarded an OBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature.

Kate Mosse

Kate Mosse is an international bestselling author with sales of more than five million copies in 42 languages. Her fiction includes the novels Labyrinth (2005), Sepulchre (2007), The Winter Ghosts (2009), Citadel (2012), and The Taxidermist's Daughter (2015), as well as an acclaimed collection of short stories, The Mistletoe Bride & Other Haunting Tales (2013). Kate is the Co-Founder and Chair of the Board of the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (previously the Orange Prize) and in June 2013, was awarded an OBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature. She lives in Sussex.

Greg Mosse

Greg Mosse is a writer, translator and creative writing teacher. With his wife, Kate Mosse, he is also co-director of the Chichester writing festival.