Search results for: 'kate mosse'

Sphere

The Fourteenth Letter

Claire Evans
Authors:
Claire Evans

"If you enjoyed Kate Mosse's Labyrinth or Jessie Burton's The Miniaturist, the chances are you're going to love this new thriller."Hello MagazineA mysterious keepsake, a murdered bride, a legacy of secrets...One balmy June evening in 1881, Phoebe Stanbury stands before the guests at her engagement party: this is her moment, when she will join the renowned Raycraft family and ascend to polite society.As she takes her fiancé's hand, a stranger holding a knife steps forward and ends the poor girl's life. Amid the chaos, he turns to her aristocratic groom and mouths: 'I promised I would save you.'The following morning, just a few miles away, timid young legal clerk William Lamb meets a reclusive client. He finds the old man terrified and in desperate need of aid: William must keep safe a small casket of yellowing papers, and deliver an enigmatic message: The Finder knows.With its labyrinth of unfolding secrets, Claire Evans' riveting debut will be adored by fans of Kate Mosse, Carlos Ruiz Zafon and Jessie Burton.

Orion

Sepulchre

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse

A gripping tale of mystery and adventure from the bestselling author of THE TAXIDERMIST'S DAUGHTER and LABYRINTH.1891. Seventeen-year-old Léonie Vernier and her brother abandon Paris for the sanctuary of their aunt's isolated country house near Carcassonne, the Domaine de la Cade. But Léonie stumbles across a ruined sepulchre - and a timeless mystery whose traces are written in blood.2007. Meredith Martin arrives at the Domaine de la Cade to research a biography. But Meredith is also seeking the key to her own complex legacy and becomes immersed in the story of a tragic love, a missing girl, a unique deck of tarot cards and the strange events of one cataclysmic night a century ago...

Orion

Labyrinth

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Orion

The Taxidermist's Daughter

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse

The enthralling new Sunday Times bestselling gothic novel from the author of THE WINTER GHOSTS, CITADEL and LABYRINTH.The clock strikes twelve. Beneath the wind and the remorseless tolling of the bell, no one can hear the scream . . . 1912. A Sussex churchyard. Villagers gather on the night when the ghosts of those who will not survive the coming year are thought to walk. And in the shadows, a woman lies dead. As the flood waters rise, Connie Gifford is marooned in a decaying house with her increasingly tormented father. He drinks to escape the past, but an accident has robbed her of her most significant childhood memories. Until the disturbance at the church awakens fragments of those vanished years . . .

Orion

The Mistletoe Bride and Other Haunting Tales

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse

The perfect winter ghost short story collection from the No.1 bestselling author of LABYRINTH and THE WINTER GHOSTS.I hear someone coming. It has happened before. I pause and listen but no longer hear anything. I sigh. As always, hope is snatched away before it can take root. And so then, as always, I am carried back to that first December so very long ago...Rooted in the elemental landscapes of Sussex, Brittany and the Languedoc, here are tales of ghosts and spirits seeking revenge, grief-stricken women and haunted men coming to terms with their destiny.

Orion

Citadel

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Virago

Becoming A Mother

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse

Combining medical and historical information with real life accounts of ordinary women, this book is an essential guide to the facts, feelings and emotions experienced during pregnancy and birth. It takes you week by week, from the decision to conceive, through to first impressions of life with your baby, offering invaluable information. Topics include: Conception - If and When; Feelings for Your Growing Baby; Your Career and Financial Position; Fear that Something May Go Wrong; Changing Relationships with Family and Friends; Choosing Where and How to Give Birth; How Others Felt - Women Relate their Experiences; The First Few Days with Your Baby

Orion Children's Books

The Mystery of the Secret Room

Helen Moss, Leo Hartas
Contributors:
Helen Moss, Leo Hartas
Hamlyn

The Craft Library: Cool Knits for Kids

Kate Gunn, Robyn Macdonald
Authors:
Kate Gunn, Robyn Macdonald

Knitting is becoming an extremely popular hobby, with knitted items featuring highly in today's fashion industry and celebrities such as Madonna and Kate Moss publicly proclaiming their love for the craft. With Cool Knits for Kids you can create fab and fashionable items for all the cool kids you know. Containing 25 fresh, modern designs while retaining time-tested traditional techniques, this book provides a wide range of functional and fashionable items to keep your child warm, safe and looking great. With clear step-by-step guidance, lavish and detailed photography and complete explanations of all knitting techniques, knitters of all abilities will be able to produce everything from bootees and blankets to toys and sweaters.

Abacus

Night Falls On The City

Sarah Gainham
Authors:
Sarah Gainham

Vienna, 1938. Beautiful actress Julia Homburg and her politician husband Franz Wedeker embody all the enlightened brilliance of their native city. But Wedeker is Jewish, and just across the border the tanks of the Nazi Reich are primed for the Anschluss. When the SS invades and disappearances become routine, Franz must be concealed. With daring ingenuity, Julia conjures a hiding place. In the shadow of oppression, a clear conscience is a luxury few can afford, and Julia finds she must strike a series of hateful bargains with the new order if she and her husband are to survive.A highly acclaimed bestseller when first published in the 1960s, Night Falls on the City is a true lost classic, and an unforgettable portrait of wartime.

Sphere

The Map

T. S. Learner
Authors:
T. S. Learner

Mazes, riddles, witchcraft . . . and centuries-old secretsAn Oxford classics scholar has discovered an ancient scroll.A band of black-magic worshippers has gathered in London.A map to three labyrinths hidden within Europe has been unfolded.And an ancient mystery is calling . . .Pursued by spies and secret agents, guarding the map from unseen enemies, August Winthrop plunges headlong into a Europe ravaged by war. But the map will lead him farther than he ever dreamed - into a series of labyrinths with the power to change the world.From the Top 10 bestselling author of Sphinx comes the most dazzling novel of the year - a sophisticated, relentlessly exciting story in the tradition of Dan Brown, Robert Harris and Kate Mosse.

Orion

The Best Little Book Club in Town

. Various
Authors:
. Various
Orion

The Winter Ghosts

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Orion

The Cave - Quick Read

Kate Mosse
Authors:
Kate Mosse
Orion

The Book Lovers' Appreciation Society

. Various
Authors:
. Various
Sphere

The Concubine's Secret

Kate Furnivall
Authors:
Kate Furnivall
Orion

Secrets of the Labyrinth

Greg Mosse
Authors:
Greg Mosse

Kate Mosse

Kate Mosse is the No 1 international bestselling author of six novels, three works of non fiction, three plays and short stories and essays. The first of her Languedoc Trilogy, Labyrinth, was a multi-million bestselling and critical success on an international scale. It won the Best Read category at the British Book Awards 2006, was No 1 in UK paperback for six months and was named as one of the Top 25 books of the past 25 years by Waterstones and was translated into thirty-eight languages. The second in the Languedoc Trilogy, Sepulchre, was also a worldwide bestseller, as was Citadel, the final novel in the series. Inspired by the forgotten women's stories of the Occupation in France, it tells the history of an all-female resistance unit in Carcassonne during World War II. Kate will be taking part in the inaugural event of the Resistance Studies Initiative at the University of Sussex in May. Other fiction includes the No 1 bestselling The Winter Ghosts and The Mistletoe Bride & Other Haunting Tales. Her non fiction includes Chichester Festival Theatre at Fifty and The House: Behind the Scenes at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. Kate is the Co-Founder and Chair of the Board of the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (previously the Orange Prize). She is on the Board of the National Theatre and a Patron of the Sussex based Consort of Twelve and the Fishbourne Centre. In 2012, she won the 'Spirit of Everywoman Award' for services to literature. In 2013, she was named as one of the Bookseller's Top 100 most influential people in publishing and in January 2014 was included in the Sunday Times/Debretts 500 Most Influential People list in the UK. In June 2013, Kate was awarded an OBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature.

Kate Mosse

Kate Mosse is an international bestselling author with sales of more than five million copies in 42 languages. Her fiction includes the novels Labyrinth (2005), Sepulchre (2007), The Winter Ghosts (2009), Citadel (2012), and The Taxidermist's Daughter (2015), as well as an acclaimed collection of short stories, The Mistletoe Bride & Other Haunting Tales (2013). Kate is the Co-Founder and Chair of the Board of the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction (previously the Orange Prize) and in June 2013, was awarded an OBE in the Queen's Birthday Honours List for services to literature. She lives in Sussex.

Greg Mosse

Greg Mosse is a writer, translator and creative writing teacher. With his wife, Kate Mosse, he is also co-director of the Chichester writing festival.