Search results for: 'j.k. rowling'

'Great Stories, Wonderfully Told'

Little, Brown Book Group

Little, Brown prides itself on the depth and range of its publishing, and has three distinct divisions: literary; commercial; and SF and fantasy, as well as a flourishing audio and digital list.

Little, Brown

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald – The Original Screenplay

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling
Running Press Adult

Fantastic Beasts: The Magizoologist's Discovery Case

Donald Lemke
Authors:
Donald Lemke

Inspired by the Hogwarts textbook written by J.K. Rowling's character Newt Scamander, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them takes fans to a new era in Rowling's Wizarding World, decades before Harry Potter and half a world away.This deluxe enchanted replica of Newt Scamander's case is loaded with interactive special features to make any fan of J.K. Rowling's Wizarding World feel like a master magizoologist. Kit includes:Collectible replica of the case carried along on Newt's adventures, as packaging that doubles as a keepsake box, including metal closing clasps. "Muggle worthy" dial that allows the case to be opened in either no-maj or maj-friendly modes. In no-maj, a trick lid reveals mundane case contents, but in maj mode, further wonders are revealed: Sound activation: each time the case is opened, the sound of 1 of 7 different beasts is released. 128-page, 4-1/4 x 7-inch notebook including beasts encountered along Newt's journeys and field note illustrations. It's also your Fantastic Beasts-inspired journal, inviting you to describe beasts of their own invention with prompts such as "date of discovery," "feed codes," "terrain," and "habitat." Includes elastic band closure. Newt Scamander's wand pen.

Wren & Rook

The A–Z of Wonder Women

Yvonne Lin
Authors:
Yvonne Lin

Celebrate a whole alphabet of trailblazing, groundbreaking wonder women from around the world and through time, taking in Ada Lovelace, J. K. Rowling, Oprah Winfrey and every letter in between.Men and women, boys and girls need heroes to look up to, and to aspire to be. There are thousands upon thousands of books and films about amazing athletes, scientists, artists and explorers, but they're almost all men. Girls get princesses and mermaids - sure, not necessarily the worst career choices, but there aren't enough castles and beaches for the world's 3.5 billion women. This book brings incredible women out of the shadows, celebrates their success and acknowledges their achievements. Certain to empower and inspire women and girls everywhere, it's perfect for fans of The Little Book of Feminist Saints, Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls and We Should All Be Feminists.

Sphere

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling

When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt's fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone . . .Inspired by the original Hogwart's textbook by Newt Scamander, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original screenplay marks the screenwriting debut of J.K. Rowling, author of the beloved and internationally bestselling Harry Potter books. A feat of imagination and featuring a cast of remarkable characters and magical creatures, this is epic adventure-packed storytelling at its very best. Whether an existing fan or new to the wizarding world, this is a perfect addition for any film lover or reader's bookshelf.

Running Press Mini Editions

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Bendable Bowtruckle

Running Press
Authors:
Running Press
Running Press Mini Editions

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: Newt Scamander's Case

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them takes fans to a new era in J.K. Rowling's Wizarding World, decades before Harry Potter and half a world away. Inspired by the Hogwarts textbook, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, written by J.K. Rowling's character, Newt Scamander, the film follows a magical mix-up that takes Newt on a chase around New York City looking for the magical creatures that have escaped from his case.This kit contains a collectible miniature replica of Newt's leather case, complete with sound of the Niffler, along with a 48-page book of short profiles of Newt and the beasts and full-color imagery from the film.

Seven Dials

The Little Big Things

Henry Fraser
Authors:
Henry Fraser
Sphere

The Silkworm

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith
Little, Brown

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Special Rehearsal Edition)

J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne
Authors:
J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London's West End on 30th July 2016.It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn't much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband, and father of three school-age children.While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places.

riverrun

A Book of Scars

William Shaw
Authors:
William Shaw
Hodder Paperbacks

The Catalyst

Helena Coggan
Authors:
Helena Coggan

'The next JK Rowling' (Today Programme, USA)'An astounding achievement. I can't wait for the second book! *****' - Reader Review'A great read for those who enjoyed The Hunger Games and Divergent. *****' - Reader Review____________________Rose Elmsworth has a secret.For eighteen years, the world has been divided into the magically Gifted and the non-magical Ashkind, but Rose's identity is far more dangerous. At fifteen, she has earned herself a place alongside her father in the Department, a brutal law-enforcement organisation run by the Gifted to control the Ashkind. But now an old enemy is threatening to start a catastrophic war, and Rose faces a challenging test of her loyalties.How much does she really know about her father's past? How far is the Department willing to go to keep the peace? And, if the time comes, will Rose choose to protect her secret, or the people she loves?____________________Further praise for Helena Coggan and The Catalyst'The Catalyst is a complicated, rich world of magic and danger . . . Both fantastical and startlingly relevant and contemporary, it's tense, exciting, engaging and has at its heart a central character whose incredibly personal story becomes caught up in huge battles and some even bigger ideas.' - Claire North, author of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August'A pulsing, labyrinthine, emotionally visceral plot' - Metro'A phenomenal achievement . . . assured, frightening, action-packed' - Observer

Sphere

Very Good Lives

J.K. Rowling, Joel Holland
Contributors:
J.K. Rowling, Joel Holland
Hachette Audio

The Cuckoo's Calling

Robert Galbraith
Authors:
Robert Galbraith

Now a major BBC drama: The Strike series A gripping, elegant mystery steeped in the atmosphere of London - from the hushed streets of Mayfair to the backstreet pubs of the East End to the bustle of Soho - The Cuckoo's Calling is a remarkable book. Introducing Cormoran Strike, this is the acclaimed first crime novel by J.K. Rowling, writing under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith.When a troubled model falls to her death from a snow-covered Mayfair balcony, it is assumed that she has committed suicide. However, her brother has his doubts, and calls in private investigator Cormoran Strike to look into the case.Strike is a war veteran - wounded both physically and psychologically - and his life is in disarray. The case gives him a financial lifeline, but it comes at a personal cost: the more he delves into the young model's complex world, the darker things get - and the closer he gets to terrible danger . . .

Wayland

JK Rowling

Cath Senker
Authors:
Cath Senker

The series focuses on the people who inspire children today. Each book looks at the background, life and achievements of a personality, their impact on popular culture as well as detailing the everyday facets of their job and how they have gained such success.

Sphere

The Casual Vacancy

J.K. Rowling
Authors:
J.K. Rowling
Gollancz

The End of Harry Potter?

David Langford
Authors:
David Langford
Hodder Paperbacks

The Well Of Lost Plots

Jasper Fforde
Authors:
Jasper Fforde

The third book in the phenomenal Thursday Next series from Number One bestselling author Jasper Fforde. In the words of one critic: 'Don't ask. Just read it.'Leaving Swindon behind her to hide out in the Well of Lost Plots (the place where all fiction is created), Thursday Next, Literary Detective and soon-to-be one parent family, ponders her next move from within an unpublished book of dubious merit entitled 'Caversham Heights'. Landen, her husband, is still eradicated, Aornis Hades is meddling with Thursday's memory, and Miss Havisham - when not sewing up plot-holes in 'Mill on the Floss' - is trying to break the land-speed record on the A409. But something is rotten in the state of Jurisfiction. Perkins is 'accidentally' eaten by the minotaur, and Snell succumbs to the Mispeling Vyrus. As a shadow looms over popular fiction, Thursday must keep her wits about her and discover not only what is going on, but also who she can trust to tell about it ... With grammasites, holesmiths, trainee characters, pagerunners, baby dodos and an adopted home scheduled for demolition, 'The Well of Lost Plots' is at once an addictively exciting adventure and an insight into how books are made, who makes them - and why there is no singular for 'scampi'.With grammasites, holesmiths, trainee characters, pagerunners, baby dodos and an adopted home scheduled for demolition, 'The Well of Lost Plots' is at once an addictively exciting adventure and an insight into how books are made, who makes them - and why there is no singular for 'scampi'.

J.K. Rowling

J.K. Rowling is the author of the bestselling Harry Potter series of seven books, published between 1997 and 2007, which have sold over 450 million copies worldwide, are distributed in more than 200 territories, translated into 73 languages, and have been turned into eight blockbuster films. She has also written two small volumes, which appear as the titles of Harry's schoolbooks within the novels. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them and Quidditch Through the Ages were published by Bloomsbury Children's Books in March 2001 in aid of Comic Relief. In December 2008, The Tales of Beedle the Bard was published in aid of the Children's High Level Group, and quickly became the fastest selling book of the year.

Robert Galbraith

The Cuckoo's Calling

Little, Brown Book Group confirm that Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym for J.K. Rowling, as reported in The Sunday Times on 14th July, and that the story was correct in that it was not a leak or part of a marketing campaign.

Robert Galbraith

Robert Galbraith's highly acclaimed novel The Cuckoo's Calling was an international number one bestseller, garnering praise from critics and crime fans alike. The second and third novels in the series, The Silkworm and Career of Evil, also topped the bestseller charts. Robert Galbraith's Cormoran Strike series is now a major new television series for BBC One, produced by Brontë Film and Television.Robert Galbraith is a pseudonym of J.K. Rowling, bestselling author of the Harry Potter series and The Casual Vacancy.