Related to: '@HachetteUK'

Headline Review

This Could Change Everything

Jill Mansell
Authors:
Jill Mansell
W&N

Righteous

Joe Ide
Authors:
Joe Ide

'Joe Ide is the best new discovery I've come across in a long time' Michael Connelly'In a way, the hate felt good. You were righteous, godlike, the dispenser of justice . . .'Super-smart sleuth Isaiah Quintabe - IQ to his friends - has built a mostly respectable life for himself, helping out friends and neighbours when he can and taking the occasional case to make ends meet. But there is one mystery that still haunts him almost ten years later - did his brother really die in a hit-and-run or was there more to the story behind his death? IQ has been approached by his brother's former girlfriend Sarita, whose younger sister, an erratic DJ and gambling addict, has gone missing in Las Vegas - with a frightening loan shark, Chinese Triad gangsters, and her own deadbeat boyfriend hot on her tail. Accompanied once more by his fast-talking, don't-call-me-a-sidekick partner Dodson, IQ heads off for the casinos and massage parlours of Las Vegas. His quest takes an unexpected turn when he meets a criminal mastermind who knows something about the murky circumstances that surrounded his brother's death. But when Isaiah learns the truth, what will he do with it?'One of the most remarkable debuts I've read...Deliciously quirky, written with exceptional panache and a fine ear for dialogue, it introduces the world to an LA private detective who might just become the Holmes of the 21st century' DAILY MAIL

Little, Brown

Little Fires Everywhere

Celeste Ng
Authors:
Celeste Ng
Orion

The Late Show

Michael Connelly
Authors:
Michael Connelly

'It has been more than ten years since Connelly, one of the world's greatest crime writers, last launched a major new character ... Superb storytelling, with a new character of whom we will hear far more, this cements Connelly's place at the very top of the crime-writing tree' Daily Mail* * * * *CRIME NEVER SLEEPS.Los Angeles can be a dangerous city - never more so than in the dead of night. Detective Renée Ballard, once one of the department's young hotshots, now works 'The Late Show', the notorious graveyard shift at the LAPD.It's a thankless job keeping strange hours in a twilight world of tragedy and violence, handing over her investigations as the sun rises, never getting closure.Some nights are worse than others. And tonight is the worst yet. Two cases: a brutal assault, and a multiple murder with no suspect.Ballard knows it is always darkest before dawn. But what she doesn't know is how deep her dual investigation will take her into the dark heart of her city, her department and her past...* * * * *Praise for The Late Show:'Connelly achieves an enormous amount in these 400 pages: he creates a new character who immediately leaps into life; controls a complex, fast-paced plot full of surprises; and continues to enhance his career-long portrait of modern LA' Evening Standard'The new novel from America's greatest living crime writer is a gripping thrill ride that will entrance you and keep you reading until the small hours' Daily Express'Although the usual Connelly fingerprints are in evidence here - the real achievement is the creation of his tenacious heroine, Ballard' Guardian'The Late Show reads like a Bosch novel, as Connelly braids multiple investigations into his plot, driving the story onward ... Ballard is significantly more than a Bosch replacement or clone - an absorbing character on her own terms. Connelly has created yet anotherpotentially iconic tarnished knight of those perennially mean streets' Irish Times'Classy and clever, with a tenacious heroine' Sunday Mirror'A characteristically complex tale of murder and police corruption' Mail on Sunday (Thriller of the Week)'First there was Detective Harry Bosch, then Lincoln lawyer Mickey Haller, and now comes Renee Ballard, ace thriller writer Michael Connelly's first new protagonist in 10 years. A nail-bitingly exciting investigation featuring afinely realised new character from one of America's finest contemporary novelists' Irish Independent

Two Roads

The Words In My Hand

Guinevere Glasfurd
Authors:
Guinevere Glasfurd

'EXCELLENT... AN ENTIRELY UNSENTIMENTAL LOVE STORY WITH A MEMORABLE AND ENGAGING HEROINE' - The Times (Book of the Month)For fans of The Miniaturist and Girl With a Pearl Earring, The Words in My Hand is the re-imagined true story of Helena Jans, a Dutch maid in 17th-century Amsterdam, who works for Mr Sergeant the English bookseller. When a mysterious and reclusive lodger arrives - the Monsieur - Mr Sergeant insists everything must be just so. It transpires that the Monsieur is René Descartes.Helena's life, like that of so many women in history in history, is scarcely recorded. In The Words in My Hand she is a young woman who yearns for knowledge, who wants to write so badly she makes ink from beetroot and writes in secret on her skin - only to be held back by her position in society as a servant, and as a woman.Weaving together the story of Descartes' quest for reason with Helena's struggle for literacy, their worlds overlap as their feelings deepen; yet remain sharply divided. For all Descartes' learning, it is Helena he seeks out as she reveals the surprise in the everyday world that surrounds him.When reputation is everything and with so much to lose, some truths must remain hidden. Helena and Descartes face a terrible tragedy and ultimately have to decide if their love is possible at all.(P) 2016 John Murray Press

Little, Brown

The Quality of Silence

Rosamund Lupton
Authors:
Rosamund Lupton
Hachette Australia

Paradise City

CJ Duggan
Authors:
CJ Duggan

When her parents decide a change will be good for her, seventeen-year-old Lexie Atkinson never expected they'd send her all the way to Paradise City. Coming from a predictable life of home schooling on a rural Australian property, she's sure that Paradise will be amazing. But when she's thrust into a public school without a friendly face in sight, and forced to share a room with her insipid, hateful cousin Amanda, Lexie's not so sure. Hanging out with the self-proclaimed beach bums of the city, sneaking out, late night parties and parking with boys are all things Lexie's never experienced, but all that's about to change. It's new, terrifying . . . and exciting. But when she meets Luke Ballantine, exciting doesn't even come close to describing her new life. Trouble with a capital T, Luke is impulsive, charming and answers to no one. The resident bad-boy leader of the group, he's sexier than any boy Lexie has ever known.Amidst the stolen moments of knowing looks and heated touches, Lexie can't help but wonder if Luke is going to be good for her . . . or very, very bad?

Hachette Audio

The Longest Ride

Nicholas Sparks
Authors:
Nicholas Sparks

Ninety-one year old Ira Levinson is in trouble. Struggling to stay conscious after a car crash, with his mind fading, an image of his beloved, and long-dead, wife Ruth appears. Urging him to hang on, she lovingly recounts the joys and sorrows of their life together - how they met, the dark days of WWII, and its unrelenting effect on their families.A few miles away, college student Sophia Danko's life is about to change. Recovering from a break-up, she meets the young, rugged Luke and is thrown into a world far removed from her privileged school life. Sophia sees a new and tantalising future for herself, but Luke has a secret which threatens it all.Ira and Ruth. Sophia and Luke. Two couples, separated by years and experience, whose lives are about to converge in the most unexpected - and shocking - of ways.The new epic love story from the multi-million-copy bestselling author of The Notebook, The Lucky One and The Best of Me. Nicholas Sparks is one of the world's most beloved authors.

Latest News

Hachette UK announces the creation of a single publishing division for children’s books

Tim Hely Hutchinson, CEO of Hachette UK, announces the creation of the Hachette Children’s Group, a single publishing division comprising Hachette Children’s Books, Orion Children’s Publishing and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

Latest News

Arnaud Nourry announces succession plans at Hachette UK

Tim Hely Hutchinson is to retire as CEO of Hachette UK at the end of 2017.

Latest News

David Young to retire

Tim Hely Hutchinson, CEO of Hachette UK, today announces that David Young will stand down from his roles as CEO of the Orion Publishing Group and Deputy CEO of Hachette UK and retire from publishing at the end of 2015. Also announced are promotions and new appointments at Orion and Little, Brown.

Latest News

Kyle Cathie Ltd to join Octopus Publishing Group

Alison Goff, CEO of Octopus Publishing Group, and Kyle Cathie, Managing Director of Kyle Cathie Ltd, are delighted to announce that, with immediate effect, Kyle Cathie Ltd will join the Octopus Publishing Group.

Ama Crisp

January Jobhunting Tips

Happy New Year! I hope you all had a marvellous Christmas, we certainly had lots of festive fun here at Hachette. Now that the holidays are well and truly over, you're probably starting to think about the year ahead or setting your New Year resolutions into motion. As part of that you may be keen to kick start your year with a new role, career path, or challenge.

Latest News

Little, Brown Book Group Acquires Constable & Robinson

Ursula Mackenzie, CEO of Little, Brown, and Nova Jayne Robinson, Chairman of Constable & Robinson are delighted to announce that, with immediate effect, Constable & Robinson will join Little, Brown Book Group.

Hachette UK

Work Experience

Hachette UK offers work placement opportunities to many individuals every year. Placements take place in a variety of functions and across all our divisions.

Publishing: not just for the bookish!

Insight Into Publishing

A free event where you can find out more about the career opportunities on offer in the UK's most diverse book publishing group and number 1 eBook publisher. Our next event is 4th November 2015

Latest News

Six Hachette UK Titles on World Book Night list for 2013

Six titles from across the Hachette group have been selected to be given away for World Book Night 2013, in a list of titles which aims to promote accessibility with a selection of twenty titles, down from last year's twenty-five. The list includes a graphic novel and a Quick Reads title, and the event will also return to the USA, having debuted there last year.

Join

Hachette UK on Facebook

Get the latest news and updates from across the Hachette UK group on Facebook.

Hachette UK Ltd

Use of Cookies

This section sets out the privacy policy for all Hachette UK Ltd websites.

Latest News

Twitter and Hachette UK launch #WhereIWrite

Twitter and Hachette UK are delighted to be working together on an exciting new project made possible with the launch of Twitter's new app, Periscope.